How do I make footprints like in Harry Potter's Azkaban ?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu May 08, 2014 11:58 am

Hi to all !
I'm sure many of have seen the end credits of Harry Potter and the Prisonner of Azkaban.
If not, it's here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5QwQL5ZxYwI
Here's my point.
I'd like to recreate the "footprint" effect combined with Pathfinder.
In one word, player touches the screen where he wants to go and travel is marked by fading footprints (different footprints everytime, for realism).
Any one has an idea ?
Thanks !
Laurent
B
38
S
16
G
5
Posts: 269
Reputation: 5,964

Post » Thu May 08, 2014 3:23 pm

not quite what you asked but this is something I was playing around with that might help
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Thu May 08, 2014 5:10 pm

Thanks, @RamPackWobble !
Any idea on how to embed it to the pathfinder behavior ?
B
38
S
16
G
5
Posts: 269
Reputation: 5,964

Post » Fri May 09, 2014 6:24 am

Taken the pathfinding example and added footprints.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Fri May 09, 2014 7:30 am

@RamPackWobble : Woaw, thanks ! That's exactly what I needed ! Thank you so much
B
38
S
16
G
5
Posts: 269
Reputation: 5,964

Post » Fri May 09, 2014 6:10 pm

@RamPackWobble : I was thinking of som improvement. Any idea on how to create footprints at the same distance from one another regardless of speed ?
B
38
S
16
G
5
Posts: 269
Reputation: 5,964

Post » Sat May 10, 2014 4:51 am

Not tested but I guess you could make a note of the x,y when the foot print is spawned then have a running check of the distance to the "head" then only spawn a new footprint when the distance is greater than the required minimum, reset the x,y and start again...

another thought is if you know the player speed then you could adjust the timer as needed to even out the footprints
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Sat May 10, 2014 6:52 pm

@RamPackWobble : yeah, came up with the same conclusion but couldn't achieve sth so far. Tried to divide speed with time to get a proportional spawn rate but doesn't work.
B
38
S
16
G
5
Posts: 269
Reputation: 5,964

Post » Sun May 11, 2014 6:33 am

Here is an example with using distance. Needs work.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WesleyDeveloper9 and 6 guests