How do I make it display a variable?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:21 pm

I want it to display my coin varaible so the player knows how many coins he has?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 86
Reputation: 571

Post » Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:22 pm

Set text: coinVariable ?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sat Sep 19, 2015 7:27 pm

LittleStain wrote:Set text: coinVariable ?

Can you explain this a lil more?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 86
Reputation: 571

Post » Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:56 pm

When using the set text action from the text object of your choice. Here is what you should input.

"Coins:" & YOURVARIABLENAME

And what i mean by YOURVARIABLENAME is the variable that stores the amount of coins.

This is very basic expressions https://www.scirra.com/manual/126/system-expressions
B
8
S
2
Posts: 41
Reputation: 643

Post » Sun Sep 20, 2015 2:47 am

Message: ErvinGamez is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
You should probably check out the manual of Construct 2 for help. This is a very simple task. I'll explain it as best as I can.

[*] Right-click, create new object.
[*] Select the Text object.
[*] Go to your eventsheet.
[*] Create a new event and double click System.
[*] Double click "Every Tick"
[*] Create an action for Every Tick.
[*] Double click the text.
[*] Double click "Set Text"
[*] Write in:
"Coins: " & [VARIABLENAME]


Basically, this sets the text to the word Coins: with the number of the coins you have every tick.
You're welcome!
B
7
S
2
Posts: 22
Reputation: 577


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ivanski1983 and 13 guests