How do I make my cutscene work ?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue May 05, 2015 8:29 pm

Hi there,

I made a cutscene using a globale variable and several steps, here is a screenshot :

Image

I don't understand why but the first step (variable = 0) works, then the character is mirrored and after that she is supposed to simply go on and walk but she stops every second and is mirrored again. Everything is fine, I made no mistake, I must be ignoring something about C2 logic ?
B
7
Posts: 32
Reputation: 337

Post » Tue May 05, 2015 8:47 pm

You'd want to add "System: Trigger once" to each of those three events. Event 14 is running (and queueing up all those actions) every tick while Scenes = 0. You only want it to run once.
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Wed May 06, 2015 7:04 am

I'm so stupid, I actually know that. Thanks @ramones , let's move on to the next problem ahahah I just did what you told me and now the character won't move at all...
B
7
Posts: 32
Reputation: 337

Post » Wed May 06, 2015 9:15 am

Ah yeah I didn't look at the actions properly. Because you're using 'Simulate pressing right' you actually want it to run every tick.

You could split it into two events:

Scenes = 0: Simulate pressing right

Scenes = 0
Trigger once: Wait x seconds...
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,650

Post » Wed May 06, 2015 9:58 am

Wouldn't it be easier to use the timer behaviour instead of the wait action?

scenes = 0
-- every tick
> simulate pressing right
-- trigger once
>start timer with tag "scenes0a" for 15 seconds

on timer "scene0a"
> set maximum speed to 40
> start timer "scenes0b" for 3.5 seconds

on timer "scene0b"
-- set maximum speed to 30
-- start timer "scenes0c" for 1.5 seconds

on timer "scene0c"
> set maximum speed to 40
> start timer "scenes1a" for 0.5 seconds

on timer "scene1a"
> set scenes to 1
> sprite set mirrored

etcetera..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed May 06, 2015 12:18 pm

OK guys thanks very much I'll try that tonight and let you know, cheers!
B
7
Posts: 32
Reputation: 337

Post » Thu May 07, 2015 8:33 am

Hi,

@Ramones, thank you so much, that works perfectly. I am not finished with the cutscene yet but I'll post a link once it's done so that you can see the results ;)
B
7
Posts: 32
Reputation: 337


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Darknessed, FabianB and 44 guests