How do I make player pick objects.

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Pick Up Items Sound effects for your game, Take them for a ride right now and you will worry no more.
  • Hello guys, I discovered Construct 2 and started playing with it, after some time I decided I wanted to make player's character picks up items and drop them actively.

Let me start by saying how thankful I am for some of you brilliant people lookin into this and actually trying to help and contributing, I am not a game developer I just to this for fun as an hobby, so I'm sorry if I tried to do it the wrong way or missed some relevant details, fell free to tell me! (.capx below)

So I got on it and tried lot's of ways to do it (including pin) without success, at first character would pick up the item but if character moves the item would stay on the same place. After a few more tries I made it pick up the item and it would accompany player. This is just to give you some information about what problems I ran into and here's some more details:

My objective:

Make a character, controled by player which picks up objects and holds them when pressing a key;
      Pressing this key again would make player drop the object in question;
      Also it's important the picked up object follows a imagepoint, for example is player picks up a pistol, this pistol has to follow his hand.
      I was planning to use this to make player change equipments and each part (head,torso,legs) easly with no problems, this would allow characters to use different equipment combinations since everything is attached to a different position.

How I though I would do it:

Having to sprites, player and item;
      If they were overlapping and "E" key was pressed two things would happen. One it would set a variable to 1, and two it would disable item's physics; If this variable is set to one it would set item's position to the same as imagepoint 1 which belongs to player;