How do I make popup window?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:34 pm

Hi

I'm trying to make 2 different Popup Windows.
1.) A popup opens and can be only closed if you press the "X"
2.) A popup opens and can be only closed if you click outside of the popup
(which should be very useful, if you use it on a phone, because it could be difficult to hit the small "X"
Also the background shouldn't disappear it should be just darker.

Like others newbies I'm having troubles with the buttons. I searched the forum and tried to use groups, but something isn't working.... :/.(also there are some many versions) Then I tried with destroying the buttons, this worked, but they never come back... :lol: Also I found another version with variables, but this seems too be complicate.

Attached I put a sample with layers (hide/visible) and deleted the groups (because it's anyway not working). Can somebody give me a little help/hint?

Thx a lot
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
15
S
4
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,030

Post » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:55 pm

@edwardr Use the browser plugin and the Windows- Alert action.
B
18
S
3
G
4
Posts: 63
Reputation: 2,795

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 8:49 am

Yes, I was thinking about it, but this is only useful for Messages.

When you have options (e.g. choose "A, B, C or D" or how many % would you like,...) , additional images or variables then you need your own "popup". I will try again today, maybe I'm lucky. Maybe I just have some error in groups,... When I'm finished I will post the code and manual. (help is welcome :) )
B
15
S
4
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,030

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:09 pm

Ok, 50% success.

Everything is working accept the outside button. Even it is deactivated and not in the same layer, it is still disturbing the main buttons. This means there where the outside button is, nothing can be clicked. I added the code so you can see what I mean or you can use the other function.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
15
S
4
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,030

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:36 pm

Try this.
menu_not_working_2.capx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
20
S
6
G
2
Posts: 623
Reputation: 3,498

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:04 pm

brunopalermo: thx, but in this Version the main button e.g. menu is still active, when the popup (click outside to go back) is still active.
B
15
S
4
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,030

Post » Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:12 pm

Not sure why this happens, I never touched the actions that activate deactivate each group.

By the way, regarding this... I'd rather check for a variable or for the visibility of layers instead of activate/deactivate groups.
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
20
S
6
G
2
Posts: 623
Reputation: 3,498

Post » Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:10 pm

By the way, here's a small example I made... I tried to explain everything in the comments, but let me know if you need help with anything.

popups.capx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
20
S
6
G
2
Posts: 623
Reputation: 3,498

Post » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:34 pm

Thank you very much. I will check it now. I thought I could solve it just with layers, but it seems too complicate.
B
15
S
4
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,030

Post » Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:54 am

brunopalermo: thank you very much. It took me a while to understand each step, but it's logic. I had to rethink and use more variables and functions. Also I tried to use the Spirit as a button. Now I use an invisible button so I can disable and enable it.
B
15
S
4
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,030

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TRMG and 11 guests