How do I make skill tree menu

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:48 am

Hello!

It is my first post here - I was looking for the same problem but I didn't find it.

I make a platform game with RPG elements. I would to have skill menu when some button is pressed.
When player click some button it open new layout and then show skills tree - when player click it again last layout is opening.
It's works.

BUT

When player back to game layout then all non persist objects are recreated.
I don't want to make all sprites persist because I want to have only one layout with persist enemies.

What can I do?
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 154

Post » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:18 am

That is a problem if you use a second event sheet with your second layout.

You can have multiple layouts running from a single event sheet and use a global variable to determine which events are run. That would keep all objects in place but you will have to set variables when you switch from one layout to another.

If you use restart layout or reset global variables then sprites will go back to start.

You can also set sprites to persist or not persist in the sprite behaviors.
Banned User
B
28
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,825

Post » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:27 am

Thank you for reply! :)

It is possible to copy sprite with variables to other layout? Or I must use global variables?
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 154

Post » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:49 am

Muchowy wrote:Thank you for reply! :)

It is possible to copy sprite with variables to other layout? Or I must use global variables?


You can set local variables to a sprite but global variables are set in events generally and they are global meaning they will change with any layout or event sheet as you play the game.
Banned User
B
28
S
7
G
58
Posts: 1,229
Reputation: 34,825


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Congrats2u, Kyatric and 28 guests