How do I make something like a trampoline?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:51 pm

Sorry if this has been posted before, but I am new to this software and forum. I'm looking to create a game where the character is on a trampoline and has to jump on it to go higher. so essentially what I need is something that increases the height of the character every time the he hits the trampoline. Thanks in advance and sorry if that isn't clear.
B

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:28 pm

To do this you're going to need to work with variables; I knocked up this little example (By using a platformer example from someone else that I happened to have open at the time, I'm very lazy and full credit for everything above my little comment on the event sheet to the original author!)

See here: http://www.sendspace.com/file/55neie

Basically I set a variable that tells the game what to set as the value for a Set Y Vector event, which gives you the bounce upwards effect (When you specify a negative value).

This variable is increased by with the function *1.2 every time the player hits the trampoline, so each jump will be a bit higher.

The next important thing is to reset the variable when the player touches the ground, this is easy to do with a set value event for our bounce variable.

And that's pretty much it, one event to handle your bounce height and your set: to make it better you can specify a ceiling(A numerical upper limit) for your bounce height by giving the trampoline event the condition that your bounce variable must be less than a certain number to continue growing in size.

Hope I've helped, any questions please ask! :)
B
S
G

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:42 pm

Thank you, that is exactly what i needed. I will look through it later.
B

Post » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:28 pm

if you don't want the player to jump higher each time, you can simply
slap a platform behavior on the player and then....

on player collides with trampoline -> simulate control jump

B
S
G