How do I : Make transparencies?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:15 am

Hey, I've been looking around, and all I can find is info from the older version. I was just curious if there's a way I can make a certain colour transparent. 255, 0, 255 doesn't work. And maybe it's just my program (Graphics Gale.) But I save them with white as transparency, yet they don't seem to show transparent in Construct. Any help would be appreciated!
B
16
S
3
G
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 2,078

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:34 pm

Perhaps changing the 'effect' under 'proeprties' of the sprite to 'additive' may help.

This makes any color 'dd its hex value to its background. Black becomes transparent and every other color seems to glow - great for lighting effects.

Not sure if this is what you want - it may help though.
B
21
S
5
G
2
Posts: 26
Reputation: 2,512

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:41 pm

Look on google for the keywords : "How to alpha layer Graphics Gale", or something of the like (specify the software and "alpha layer", the alpha layer IS the transparency you're looking for).
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:49 pm

Crayron do you want to have this color transparent from the start or do you want to change its transparency by a given event?
What kind of image format you will use for (for ex png)?Stormskull2011-10-14 12:49:56
B
2
G
1
Posts: 9
Reputation: 518

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:54 pm

The PNG file format supports alpha transparency. That's the modern way of doing transparency - using a "color key" is a bit old fashioned, but some graphics editors still don't properly support alpha transparency.

Try Paint.NET (unfortunately there are tonnes of scummy adverts designed to trick you, so here's a direct download link). That properly supports alpha transparency.

Graphics Gale might also as well, but I've never used it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:01 pm

Thats exactly what I aimed for Ashley :).
Paint is cool also you can use Gimp which will give you some more options.http://www.gimp.org/
B
2
G
1
Posts: 9
Reputation: 518

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:29 pm

Here is a good tutorial for Gimp Here
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 203
Reputation: 3,647

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:21 pm

Hey, thanks everyone for all the replies. I was hoping I could make white, within the program, the transparency. Because like I said, I would have to go through a whole lot of images and change them, then reupload them into Construct. Was just hoping there was a way I could save myself some time!
B
16
S
3
G
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 2,078

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:33 pm

We're hoping to add drawing tools to make this easier in future. In the mean time you could try asking the developers of these apps to enable proper alpha support! It's really old fashioned to not support alpha. There should at least be an option in the program to export your artwork with transparency using a color key. As I said, Construct 2 itself does not use any color key.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:45 pm

Ahwell! I just went through and found my issue, it was 4:30am when I was trying to figure all this out. Haha. Unfortunately, I did have to re-save, and reload all my images, thankfully though, the collision boxes are actually doing a good job of finding where they need to be. Thanks a lot for all your help. :)
B
16
S
3
G
2
Posts: 57
Reputation: 2,078

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Renfd, supreme676 and 31 guests