How do I Mario Powerups

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
  • Hello! I'm new to Construct 2 and thought it would be fun to make an attempt at making a Mario game. Since I'm new, I've been using the free version, which limits me to 100 events. However, this is causing me to run into a problem. Currently, to animate Mario, it takes 34 events. However, Mario has multiple states he can be in, such as big, small, fire, or star. Each of these require different animation though. With my limited amount of events, I can't just duplicate the 34 events to make these different power up states. So, is there a potential workaround? Thanks in advance!

• there definitely is, but im curious as to how it takes you 34 events to animate mario. a screenshot would make this a little easier to answer. i feel maybe you are calling something else an event, but a lot of what you're asking can be done with a combination of global/instance variables and the set animation, or scale sprite options.

if you make a numeric global variable/instance variable called "State" you can say if state = 0 set animation to a, state = 1 set animation to b, etc. . if you post a screenshot of your events i can probably help you cut it down by a few lines of code. 34 sounds like way too much. ive made full platformers with less than that when my laptop worked.

• I couldn't figure out how to upload a picture directly to the forum, so I just created a quick Google site and uploaded the picture there. The last bits of it get cut off, but they are essentially if A is down simulate jump, of left arrow is down simulate pressing left, and if right arrow is down simulate right. Again, since I'm new to all this, I started off using a tutorial. However, the tutorial didn't cover key features such as running, so I stopped using it. After that I just did stuff myself. It's probably really inefficient. It works however. I'm guessing I'll probably just start from scratch and make something that is more convenient.