How do I move view window to center of layout?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Nov 08, 2015 5:28 pm

Hello,

I'd just like to move the window view indicator (dashed lines) to the center of the screen, so I can set spawn points outside and then have them move inside the view window.

However, cant figure out how to do this without placing a sprite in the middle, setting it as scroll to. But then I dont have an indicator to see where the edges of my view are to place spawn points.

If someone could help me figure out how to move the window view indicator? Thanks.
B
6
Posts: 1
Reputation: 269

Post » Sun Nov 08, 2015 5:47 pm

You can't..
The dotted line shows the view from coordinate 0,0 (top-left) to x,y (bottom-right) where x = project-width and y = project-height..

You could always use the viewortleft(), viewporttop() etcetera to spawn based on viewport..
Or if you want to do it your way, scrolling to a sprite, viewportleft would be sprite.x - 0.5* (your project width) as long as you don't use fullscreen-scaling, for that might change the coordinates of your viewport-edges..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:57 pm

LittleStain


Have the ability to move Layout to the center Window ?
like this
https://prnt.sc/gtdo6r
B
14
S
5
Posts: 13
Reputation: 885

Post » Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:19 am

Hey @SamLarsen97!

You could create a bigger layout and center the camera On start of layout like in this capx:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hx6igo0di7gtu ... .capx?dl=0

In this example I marked the center of the layout with the yellow square and the spawn points (outside of the view) with blue ones. You may use the arrows to navigate around and see how everything is positioned.

Help this helps. Cheers!
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
21
S
6
G
3
Posts: 703
Reputation: 3,935

Post » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:08 pm

Hey @brunopalermo

I tried to open your provided capx but my C2 said that it was saved from the newest version, r247.

first, how can it be, you got r247 but in C2 website, the latest version is still r244?

second, is there any other way to open it or maybe you can explain a little bit about the capx?

thank you.
Great person aren't made by praise and laugh but insult and tear
B
13
S
3
Posts: 39
Reputation: 867

Post » Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:53 pm

Hey @Darknessed!

There are two kinds of releases: stables, currently on r244, and beta releases, now on r247. You can download it here: https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases

Sadly, construct does not allowus to save as a preview stable release, which, I guess, would be a nice feature to have...
Bruno

I like to eat, but I'm no cook. Why liking to play games would make you a game designer?
B
21
S
6
G
3
Posts: 703
Reputation: 3,935

Post » Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:27 pm

@brunopalermo

Oh, i see..thanks for the heads up..i'm on my way downloading r247..

when i'm done opening your capx, i'll be in touch again..
Great person aren't made by praise and laugh but insult and tear
B
13
S
3
Posts: 39
Reputation: 867


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests