How do I open web page in default browser in crosswalk?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:54 am

Is it anyway possible? I want to add more games button, but open in new window does not work...
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 318
Reputation: 2,501

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:32 am

Same issue here. I have added the IntelXDK object to my project and have tried the IntelXDK "Launch External Site" action, but it always opens up an in-app webview rather than the phone's default browser.
Last edited by cjbruce on Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
52
S
17
G
26
Posts: 432
Reputation: 18,084

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:06 am

After poking around a bit, I realized that the "IntelXDK" object actions don't seem to do anything in Crosswalk. URLs are only opened using the "Browser" object. This means that if someone clicks on a link to my webpage in the app, they are taken to the page but can't navigate back because there are no browser buttons or a URL bar. The Android "Back" button doesn't work either.

Any ideas? It seems like there should be an obvious solution that I'm missing.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
52
S
17
G
26
Posts: 432
Reputation: 18,084

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:32 am

Results of troubleshooting:

The IntelXDK "Is in IntelXDK" condition is not evaluating as true when I compile to Crosswalk 4.32.76.7 (stable) or to 5.34.104.2 (beta).

The IntelXDK "Launch External Site" action is not firing in either of the beta or stable Crosswalk releases.

The Browser object's "Open in a New Window" action IS firing, but it is not opening a new window. Rather, it is navigating to the new page. But without the back button, you are stuck on the new page and can't go back to the game.

I hate to say it, but I might be forced to use CocoonJS because of this.
www.simbucket.com - HTML5 Science Simulations / https://www.airconsole.com/#!play=com.n ... obotrumble - Robot Rumble on AirConsole
B
52
S
17
G
26
Posts: 432
Reputation: 18,084

Post » Thu May 22, 2014 4:42 pm

Was there a solution to getting stuck in the 'browser'? I have the same issue I have a link to my full app version on google play but it means the user gets stuck =(
B
38
S
11
G
1
Posts: 204
Reputation: 4,477

Post » Thu May 22, 2014 5:35 pm

The Browser object's 'Open URL' action should work in Crosswalk in r169+.

The Intel XDK object does nothing in Crosswalk. It only applies to AGI (formerly DirectCanvas). The object is actually renamed to "Intel AGI" in the latest betas.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Fri May 30, 2014 2:55 pm

Ashley wrote:The Browser object's 'Open URL' action should work in Crosswalk in r169+.


And when is one of those versions hitting Steam?

C2 is stuck at r168 on Steam and I can't sell a couple games on Android just for this problem/bug :roll:
B
6
Posts: 2
Reputation: 295

Post » Fri May 30, 2014 3:42 pm

Beta releases are made simultaneously on our main site and on Steam. See http://steamcommunity.com/app/227240/discussions/0/810923021602340037/.
Scirra Founder
B
402
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,644
Reputation: 196,095

Post » Sat Jun 07, 2014 4:53 pm

It still does not work... I mean Open In New Window... Itested now, with latest Crosswalk and Construct
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 318
Reputation: 2,501

Post » Fri Dec 11, 2015 6:02 pm

Ashley wrote:The Browser object's 'Open URL' action should work in Crosswalk in r169+.


This isn't working for me lately recently with Crosswalk though I have gotten it to work before.

Right now my action looks like this:
Browser | Go to "<url here>" in a new window ("NewWindow")

It works on my computer but not Android device. Anyone have success with this recently? Maybe I need to configure my settings in the Intel XDK or something... will post update if I figure out the solution.

EDIT: Found the solution in another thread. You need to edit the "Intent (External Whitelist)" field in Intel XDK to either use * or if you want to specify exactly what you want to whitelist you can. Thanks to this thread for the solution: how-do-i-open-a-browser-window-from-android_t162274
B
64
S
12
G
6
Posts: 456
Reputation: 9,015


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests