How do I optimize physic blocks

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:45 am

Hi,

i'm making a falling blocks game and i'm using physic behaviour for the blocks and the ground. But results are not totally good. Blocks bounce too much and when are over other blocks they start shaking and moving ruining the game. I have tryid also Chipmunks physic behaviour but blocks fall too quicky. Is there some configurations for use physic behaviour in the right way?

Thanks!
B
10
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 600

Post » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:28 pm

My blocks still shake! Why?
B
10
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 600

Post » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:52 pm

Hard to say without seeing a capx, but I would suggest having a play around with the density, friction and elasticity; probably the last one would be best to adjust first - try setting it to 0 and see what happens.

Also reduce the number of blocks you are using to 2 or 3 - check whether you get the same issue with a small number first, fix that and then scale up.
B
21
S
9
G
4
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,285

Post » Sun Apr 23, 2017 6:33 pm

Thanks for reply, I have setted 0 for elasticity, 1 for friction and 200 for density. When a block fall near the edge of the block behind, it starts shaking moving all the tower...
B
10
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 600

Post » Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:57 am

Try a higher friction setting, and also make sure your collision boxes are completely straight ;)

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
84
S
34
G
40
Posts: 3,032
Reputation: 30,499

Post » Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:20 am

Friction is 1 that is the max, and collision boxes are straight... I will attach a capx maybe is better.
B
10
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 600

Post » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:14 am

Here a video of the problem

https://youtu.be/DynhTjoRM3Q
B
10
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 600

Post » Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:53 am

@markuzz78 I'm having trouble replicating the issue. Here's a capx that uses the initial physics settings and seems to work fine:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pzksidy6czai3 ... .capx?dl=0

If you supply the capx maybe we can get to the root of the problem.
B
21
S
9
G
4
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,285

Post » Mon May 01, 2017 12:05 pm

B
10
S
1
Posts: 49
Reputation: 600

Post » Mon May 01, 2017 2:04 pm

markuzz78 wrote:Here a video of the problem

https://youtu.be/DynhTjoRM3Q


I dunno why, but that made me laugh xD

I have no idea why it could be doing that, unless perhaps your collision masks are slightly crooked? Are you using a custom collision polygon or just bounding box mode set to whole sprite from the physics object options?

*EDIT*
I tried to download your project to check, but it's not saved as a single project file - which makes it a little hard to download properly.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
84
S
34
G
40
Posts: 3,032
Reputation: 30,499

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wittlewobber, worm1 and 20 guests