How do I overlay animation on my character

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2014 8:36 pm

so i got an animation of my character running without any arms, animation of arms in running motion, and an attack motion. Since it looks wierd when i attack it uses my stand still attack image, after some research i noticed that some games use a seperate arms image.... anyways i'm not sure how I would layer this animation on my running character

so if the player is just holding a direction key the character arms running will play on top, but if a player is holding a direction key and hitting the attack button it will switch to the attack arms animation
B
10
S
1
Posts: 97
Reputation: 700

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:17 pm

Not near my computer but it sounds like on the player object make an image point for the arms object to pin it. So set the arms origin point where you would mount it on the body and then add the 'PIN' behavior to the arm object. Then in the arm object layout have two animation set one for running another for throwing. After that go to the eventsheerr and the on start of layout event and have the arms pin itself to the player body.
B
23
S
4
G
2
Posts: 364
Reputation: 2,392

Post » Fri Apr 18, 2014 10:43 pm

ya i've been trying that cant seem to get it to work properly though, i've looked at other image point tutorials but i want my arms to move with my character and i tried pinning it but ... ya i wonder if you have time to help me over skype sometime?
B
10
S
1
Posts: 97
Reputation: 700

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 12:47 am

Don't have skype but I can set something up to help.
B
23
S
4
G
2
Posts: 364
Reputation: 2,392

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:26 am

alright phoenixnightly
B
10
S
1
Posts: 97
Reputation: 700

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:40 am

Gussy you mean like this. Use arrows key and W, E
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
256
S
39
G
15
Posts: 1,984
Reputation: 41,038

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:57 am

I dont know because i cant see the project i'm using free version of construct 163 and your using 166
B
10
S
1
Posts: 97
Reputation: 700

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:42 pm

I threw this together its quick and dirty see if this help you get started. I did before you provided you sprite so I will check into that.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

With the example I just used the animation speeds for idle and moving. I don't really have my software for screenshots with me sorry if its a bit blurry.

Here is an example of it running--
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/128 ... index.html
Last edited by PhoenixNightly on Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
23
S
4
G
2
Posts: 364
Reputation: 2,392

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:52 pm

ya your images are hard to read but i get it , i'll see what i can do on my end
B
10
S
1
Posts: 97
Reputation: 700

Post » Sat Apr 19, 2014 7:55 pm

UPDATE:Yea I tried enlarging them and shrinking the other text. That should be better. With the license you would have the option of families you could just make a player family and mirror them in one event.
Last edited by PhoenixNightly on Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:05 pm, edited 3 times in total.
B
23
S
4
G
2
Posts: 364
Reputation: 2,392

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests