How do I prevent an effect from failing after export?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 07, 2015 6:01 am

Hey everyone, normally I try to solve these on my own but I can't seem to figure this one out. I have applied a swirl effect onto a sprite to make it pretty, but it always glitches out after exporting it.

This is what it looks like in preview using chrome:
Image

This is what it looks like after exporting to node webkit and android:
Image

What's really annoying is that if I use the node webkit preview, it appears just fine! Has anyone experienced this issue before? I would really appreciate any help/tips. Thank you!
B
37
S
5
G
1
Posts: 155
Reputation: 2,140

Post » Sat Feb 07, 2015 8:35 am

What is your GPU?
What does chrome://gpu say in chrome?
Are there any errors in the browser console?
What is it like in IE11 and Firefox?
Are your drivers up to date?
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
130
S
29
G
80
Posts: 5,267
Reputation: 55,966

Post » Sat Feb 07, 2015 8:41 am

have you checked your exported folders image's maybe somethings going wrong if you are using a odd image size or something
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Sat Feb 07, 2015 8:46 am

Also, since so far it looks like the effect is static - it would be a VERY good idea to do it without shaders as they tend to eat a decent chunk of performance (also possible compatibility problems as we can see here).
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Sat Feb 07, 2015 2:23 pm

zenox98 wrote:What is your GPU?
What does chrome://gpu say in chrome?
Are there any errors in the browser console?
What is it like in IE11 and Firefox?
Are your drivers up to date?


GPU is a GTX 860m
Chrome runs it fine, but I will check that later today.
Not that I know of. I'll check that too.
IE11 runs everything in a lower resolution (unsure if that's normal?), firefox is fine as well.
Yes, drivers are up to date.

volkiller730 wrote:have you checked your exported folders image's maybe somethings going wrong if you are using a odd image size or something


I can check that, the sprite is a 16x16 though, so I can't see the issue being image size.

Somebody wrote:Also, since so far it looks like the effect is static - it would be a VERY good idea to do it without shaders as they tend to eat a decent chunk of performance (also possible compatibility problems as we can see here).


This is a good suggestion, I just liked the look after the effect. What I do find odd though is that I have a few other effects on as well (another swirl, and a blur effect) and those have no issues at all.

I'll have a look and play around with it more later today. Thanks everyone!
B
37
S
5
G
1
Posts: 155
Reputation: 2,140


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests