How Do I Put A Backround In My Game?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:49 pm

Subject Says It All......... :D
B
6
S
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 492

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:25 am

Typically a 'Tiled Background', or a big Sprite, or a combination. It's up to you.
B
71
S
21
G
220
Posts: 3,648
Reputation: 123,725

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 2:41 am

Have you done even the beginner tutorials? This type of stuff is covered an MANY places. Due diligence...
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,573

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:04 pm

The Thing Is Ive Tried Do Do The Tutorials For This Stuff And It Does Not Work
B
6
S
1
Posts: 39
Reputation: 492

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:19 pm

CraftedStudios wrote:The Thing Is Ive Tried Do Do The Tutorials For This Stuff And It Does Not Work

It does - you just can't do it properly.
What i'd do if i were you would be the following:
1.) divide your background into multiple, tileable smaller images
2.) have all of these images as a frame for a sprite object, but with no animation
3.) have the sprite object move in the direction you want the background to scroll
4.) once a certain Y value is reached, create another of the sprites, just increment the frames ("trigger once while true" might be a good condition for this)
5.) once the sprite is off screen, delete it

There's obviously more to this, such as setting multiple states, e.g. having the scrolling effect toggleable, but if you failed at doing the basic tutorials, i take it that this would be unnecessary for you entirely...

If you'd like an example, a small game i made uses this sort of functionality - link.
I made a clone of that game before it was cool... erm, repeated once too many times.
B
10
S
1
Posts: 163
Reputation: 1,436

Post » Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:25 pm

That is odd, they have worked for years.
B
49
S
12
G
10
Posts: 1,833
Reputation: 14,573


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: khelaghor, R0J0hound and 6 guests