How do I put a powerup like fireflower?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 3:01 am

Hello everyone! I need your help for put a powerup like the fire flower item of Mario Series. I did a gun sprite and that is the powerup. But i need that when my character takes the gun, becomes into a alternative sprite thas is the same character with diferent suit (i did the sprites of that too). Because it is supposed that when he grabs the gun becomes into a cowboy.

Also, i don't know how to shoot when grabs the powerup.

Sorry for my bad English and thank you so much ^^
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,595

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 3:32 am

One way you can do it is to have a variable which changes when the player picks up a powerup and which controls which weapon/animations are played.

So e.g.
Player collision with Powerup --> Destroy Powerup + Set Variable to 1
If Player shoots + Variable = 1 --> Shoot flamethrower
If Player running + Variable = 1 --> Set animation to Cowboy_Running
etc.
B
53
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,115

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:07 am

Thank you! But I don't know if I did it bad or something beacuse the charactear starts to appear and disappear and bugs.
Maybe the PlayerBox is being the issue?

Ok. The problem was the origin point. But know the animation doesn't run. Only changes the animation,

Please, I need your help!


Other problem is when I tried to slide (because my character has the ability to slide) with the varible set to 1 doesn't change the animation, unless I press the button several times
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,595

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 5:47 am

I mean, if you haven't already, you need to add the conditions for every time you switch animation, for every value of variable. Something like,

If Player walking
(sub event) + Variable = 0 --> Change animation to Normal_Walking
(sub event) + Variable = 1 --> Change animation to Cowboy_Walking

If Player presses slide --> Slide
(sub event) + Variable = 0 --> Change animation to Normal_Slide
(sub event) + Variable = 0 --> Change animation to Cowboy_Slide

Otherwise you may get conflicts with it trying to switch to a different animation when it's trying to slide, etc.
B
53
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,115

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 5:57 am

I already did, the problem is when I walk in the cowboy animation doesn't "run" the animation. It puts the animation but no run. Other problem I get is when I try to shoot. I did two animations for the cowboy, one is normal with Iddle, run and jump animation. The other is when I press the key to shoot, and the sprite is the cowboy shooting. The point is that when I press the shoot key the animation of cowboy shooting doesn't appear.

I hope you can help me and apologize for any inconvenience ^^'
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,595

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:10 am

Hmm, a little hard to say without looking at the capx. Are the controls for movement/shooting separated from the animation changes with sub events? It sounds like it might be a conflict where movement controls only apply if the cowboy animation isn't playing, or shooting automatically plays the not-cowboy animation. Can you post a screenshot of the events in question, or upload your .capx to download?
B
53
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,115

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:28 am

Message: Nestorj66 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Also I can not explain very well in English u.u Here is the project https://mega.nz/#!9xRiWbaD!WoTLrsPjSmd5 ... F2lhmCy-CE
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,595

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:29 am

Message: Nestorj66 can only post plain text URLS until they have 500 rep. 1 URLS modified. Why?
Sorry, here is https://mega.nz/#!slQTWJTT!WoTLrsPjSmd5 ... F2lhmCy-CE
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,595

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:32 am

lol try breaking the link up into several lines, this forum doesn't allow newer members to post links unfortunately
B
53
S
24
G
18
Posts: 295
Reputation: 13,115

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:37 am

mega nz / #!slQTWJTT!WoTLrsPjSmd5gI5zwu7CmhgbN7UqSejPUF2lhmCy-CE I hope that this works xD
B
9
S
2
G
2
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,595

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MadSpy and 8 guests