How do I run a test version of my game on an iPad

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jul 26, 2015 5:59 am

Hello,

I already have a game published on iOS, and I would like to have a playable build of my next game on my iPad.
For some reason I am unable to achieve this. Builds keep failing in XDK, with the only hint being "An unexpected error occured while attempting to build the application."

I created the icons, splash screens, a new app ID, new provisionning profile and took back the certificate I used for my previous game, as stated here : https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/1353/h ... lkphonegap

So I have no idea of what's the problem and would like to know if any of you know a simple way to have a prototype running on a test device. I don't want to upload to the App Store right now, just be able to show the prototype in a professional way.

Thanks!
B
30
S
6
G
1
Posts: 350
Reputation: 2,756

Post » Sun Jul 26, 2015 11:42 am

I have the same question. As I have tested, I have to select "Production" with production Provisioning Profile. If I select AdHoc prov. prof. and build, I get the error you mentioned. If I select prod prov. prof. and build, the build succeeds, but I'm not able to install it to my device ("App" cannot be installed at this time).
One way is to download Intel App Preview on your device and then go to Test tab in Intel XDK, but as I know, the selected plugins don't work there.
B
32
S
7
G
4
Posts: 398
Reputation: 4,591

Post » Sun Jul 26, 2015 12:04 pm

Hello Rable,

I cannot help you with your problem because I am a beginner in game development.

You seem to make very nice and beautiful games indeed. Since I visit this forum, I am surprised about the quality of games made with Construct 2 and created by community members here. Great work!
B
22
S
6
Posts: 126
Reputation: 1,796

Post » Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:25 pm

@grigrizljac
Thank you once again for your help. :) I'll try the solution with the production provisionning profile, and if it doesn't work, I'll switch to the Intel App Preview thing. Hopefully one of the two should work. ;)

@BadWolf
Thanks for your kind words! :) Don't hesitate to take a look at Healer Quest if you want. It's free on iOS and Android. ;)
B
30
S
6
G
1
Posts: 350
Reputation: 2,756

Post » Sun Jul 26, 2015 8:43 pm

Just to keep this updated, I created a new provisionning profile with Distribution / Ad Hoc instead of Development, here :
https://developer.apple.com/account/ios ... ate.action

and just updated this provisionning profile. The build was successful. :)

EDIT

@grigrizljac
Once you have a successful build, you can very easily install it on your mobile device via http://www.diawi.com/
I've got my game running on my iPad! :)
Good luck ;)
B
30
S
6
G
1
Posts: 350
Reputation: 2,756


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brunopalermo, ChesVCF, OBLIVION, shinkan, yiuyiu6666 and 25 guests