How do I Save only ONE layout.

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
From the Asset Store
Template for a generic save / load system, fully documented in comments and video
  • Hey guys, ima newbie here and i had a small question.

Im working on a small scale program, scattered across 4 layouts. (I may henceforth refer to them as "windows")

There is a sidebar that allows switching between these windows.

Now, i added the persist behaviour to stop a layout from resetting when i switched to another layout.

To elaborate, consider i pressed a button on layout 1, and this button spawned an object.

Not i switch to layout 2 using the sidebar i created. Then again, i switch back to layout 1. However, the object that i spawned earlier is now gone.

To fix this, i added the "persist" behavior to the object.

Now here arises the problem.

What i want to do is, when a specific button is clicked, the layout be saved to some slot, lets call it "save1".

Step1 : Easily done, right? However, there is one more thing i want to do.

Step2 : Lets say "layout 2" has 3 objects that were spawned by some means, and these objects have the persist behavior.

Step3 : Then i go to "layout 1" and save the game to a slot "save1".

Step4 : Now, i change a few things in layout 2, say i add an object. Now there are 4 objects with the persist behavior in "layout 2".

Step5 : Now i go back to layout 1 and using a button, i load the game from slot "save1".

It loads successfully, HOWEVER, layout 2 no longer has that other object we added in step 4 is now gone. I.E: the game saved layout2 as well as layout 1 when we saved to slot "save1" in step 3. I want the game to only save the layout1 when i goto save the game in step 3 and leave the rest be.

How can i go about this?

Thanks in advance, and i really appreciate you going through this, i know its an extremely long post, but i wanted to ensure im being clear.

If it is of any consequence, here is my saving system.

• Try Construct 3