How do I scale a mouse cursor?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:24 pm

How do I scale a mouse cursor as a layout scales?

So say I display my game at 200%, how would I make the mouse cursor do the same?

Thanks :)
B
45
S
9
G
2
Posts: 141
Reputation: 4,197

Post » Sun Mar 06, 2016 5:57 pm

A small hunch:
Compare two values in system, specifically LayoutScale in the first, and say the second value would be 2.
If =/> (both equal and greater) to two, then double the cursor's width/height, otherwise, add an else that resets it to default size.
Zelda Gamekit (my project)



Example capxs:

Zelda-Style Inventory

Zelda Health

3-saveslot system

[url=https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4396pwak0oh7q6/ZeldaDialogueSystem.capx?dl=0]Zelda-like Dialogue[
B
51
S
24
G
30
Posts: 534
Reputation: 19,620

Post » Sun Mar 06, 2016 5:59 pm

You could hide the mouse cursor and just set a sprite to mouse.x, mouse.y , it should scale with the rest of your game..
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:53 pm

I have not been able to scale the cursor at all. Any ideas?
B
45
S
9
G
2
Posts: 141
Reputation: 4,197

Post » Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:31 pm

You cannot change the windows system mouse cursor. What you can do, as LittleStain said, is basically make your own mouse cursor by hiding the windows mouse and making your own mouse cursor sprite set to mouse.x, mouse.y every tick.
Mistakes were made.
B
53
S
27
G
114
Posts: 1,699
Reputation: 64,446

Post » Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:51 pm

?

You can change the mouse cursor using "Set Cursor From Sprite" on the Mouse.

However it seems as though this cannot be scaled. Just looking for confirmation or a solution.

Thanks.
B
45
S
9
G
2
Posts: 141
Reputation: 4,197

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2016 12:02 am

No, you can't manipulate the cursor-sprite. You can set the cursor to None and just have the sprite track the mouse coordinates every tick. You can do whatever you want to the sprite then.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
249
Posts: 3,763
Reputation: 138,577

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:23 am

Any technical reason why the "Set Cursor From Sprite" can't be scaled or manipulated?
B
45
S
9
G
2
Posts: 141
Reputation: 4,197

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:28 am

Mistakes were made.
B
53
S
27
G
114
Posts: 1,699
Reputation: 64,446

Post » Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:36 am

Thanks! Good to know :)
B
45
S
9
G
2
Posts: 141
Reputation: 4,197


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kyatric and 35 guests