How do I - Select Scroll Menu

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:14 pm

Hi everyone,

I´m trying to figure out how to build up a menu which is able to change/switch the visible level the player can start.
If the player touches one of the two direction-buttons, the actual level should scroll out of the visible layout and in the same time/speed/direction the new level should scroll in an be visible.

The "Level"-sprite has several animation-models to be able to show different levels in a preview

Visible example:

First Level-Sprite should be set to the small and long "MoveBar"(Blue)
The new created Level-Sprite should be created.
Image

With a touch on (for example) "MoveRight"-button, the "MoveBar rotates to the necessary positon, For Each-"Level-Family" gets pinned to that bar and the moves forward to set positon. The Level-family gets unpinned, the bar resetted to default-position. At this point it seems to work well.
Image

Problem:
Because of the reason that both "Level"-sprites are a similar object and they do what I set up, they get after one command the same settings, are overlapped and there is no way for me to seperate and control them in a way that I could make them useful.


First I took a deeper look into existing tutorials and the manual, but I didn´t find a solution.
I tried a lot with "For each" and "UID", but nothing of that really helped me(or just not in the way I tried).
Then I tried to figure out now for a while in the forum about similar stuff, but didn´t see something that would work for me.


OneDrive-Share-Link to SelectScrollMenu.capx
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgSJ2pCrMjv7gbwDmVU_I5smM5SbqQ


So I would like to ask if somebody could take a look over my example.capx and help me out with my problem.

Thanks a lot!
B
11
S
4
G
2
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1,396

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 2:03 am

I took a quick look through your capx, and I might have misunderstood, but you just want a scrolling menu, that you can know which level is selected, right? I made something more simple for you. (You'll need Rex's MoveTo Plugin here: http://c2rexplugins.weebly.com/rex_moveto.html just click the little plugin top left)

Take a look at this capx: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzWwtk ... sp=sharing

Should be exactly what you need.


Also, a side note, I was gonna add a quick level cap on each side, but figured that was easy enough to add later.
Hope it helps :D
Justin
Eat ALL THE BACON!
B
47
S
17
G
3
Posts: 290
Reputation: 5,068

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 6:44 am

Hey antares330,

yes, thats right! A scrolling menu, which shows the selectable/actual level.

Thanks for your quick respone! I will take a look at it when I´m at home again! :D

-Stephan
B
11
S
4
G
2
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1,396

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 12:38 pm

If you want to paste something on top of the scrolling level, you might have to pin whatever you want on top before the Move Action.
Eat ALL THE BACON!
B
47
S
17
G
3
Posts: 290
Reputation: 5,068

Post » Thu Sep 01, 2016 8:47 pm

Your file helped me a lot to understand how I can set object settings after an new "create object"-action!

It makes now absolute sense why I failed all the time. I tried to "add an event" as selection for an object and set with "actions" the settings , but there is no possible relation between that with which I can control it in that way.
That what does work is to create and set all the planned and necessary object-options in one "creation"-action. :o

After I took a look at your capx I understood that and noticed, that I would not need the mentioned plugin, but it could be another possible way to solve my request! :)
Why? Because I can pin my the "selection"-object and the new created/second "selection"-object on another object, which I move.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgSJ2pCrMjv7gbwSKIMOvJ7cHu6WdQ

Once again
Thanks a lot!
B
11
S
4
G
2
Posts: 9
Reputation: 1,396


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TRMG and 33 guests