How do I Set Score to last made score?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:19 pm

Ok friends, I have tried this 100 different ways for 2 days. What I am trying to do is keep track of the HIGH SCORE which is working fine, but also the last score attempt that was less than the high score. So if the high score is 300 and on your next try you get 289 it also stores and keeps track on that score as well to help the user have an idea of how close they are coming to beating their high score.

I have the VARS:
score
highscore
lastscore

I know it's probably simple and I'm sure one of the many ways I had it was close but I'm stumped and I'm muddying up the code.

Image

Just in case:

Image

Thank you in advance for your help.
Check out my latest game RAPID-TAPIT. Get your Fingercise on with this one. A steady Tap is all you need to score points. Lift a finger and see what you can do...

Image

ALLMarkMade Designs
B
41
S
20
G
6
Posts: 367
Reputation: 7,541

Post » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:47 pm

system -> compare variable -> score < highscore -> lastscore = current score.

This will work, first you check if your current score is lower then the high score if its true, then you set the current score to the last score and you display that. The event should go in the end of each level/attempt best to be called in a function.

And well of course then the current score is higher then the high score then you change both, this can be done using another event or an else statement in the same one.
Like my work? Fallow me on social media, and see my games on the arcade.
B
7
S
5
G
9
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,367

Post » Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:25 pm

@imhotep22 I thank you for your time but either I'm doing it wrong or it's not working for me.
Check out my latest game RAPID-TAPIT. Get your Fingercise on with this one. A steady Tap is all you need to score points. Lift a finger and see what you can do...

Image

ALLMarkMade Designs
B
41
S
20
G
6
Posts: 367
Reputation: 7,541

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 12:21 am

There has got to be a way to set this up so it keeps track and stores the HIGH SCORE and any score lower than the HIGH SCORE.

Anybody?
Check out my latest game RAPID-TAPIT. Get your Fingercise on with this one. A steady Tap is all you need to score points. Lift a finger and see what you can do...

Image

ALLMarkMade Designs
B
41
S
20
G
6
Posts: 367
Reputation: 7,541

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 1:16 am

You are doing something wrong, I just did a quick test in one of my old games, and the event works fine. I don't how to help you like this try adding a screenshot of what you have so far( the event where you store the score).
Like my work? Fallow me on social media, and see my games on the arcade.
B
7
S
5
G
9
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,367

Post » Sun Jul 30, 2017 2:25 am

@imhotep22 absolutely and I'm sure it's me... As long as I have been doing this you would think I could figure it out. I'm sure I'm over thinking it. I'll keep at it and post if I can't get it but I want to try a few things first.

Thank you very very much.
Check out my latest game RAPID-TAPIT. Get your Fingercise on with this one. A steady Tap is all you need to score points. Lift a finger and see what you can do...

Image

ALLMarkMade Designs
B
41
S
20
G
6
Posts: 367
Reputation: 7,541


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests