How do I set text to Sprite Max Speed

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:03 pm

Hey everybody,

I am making an Charakter Upgrade System, for that I want to display how much Speed the Charakter actually has got.
So.... I have done it like that:

On Start of Layout ---> Text -----> Set Text to Player.Plattform.Speed

But it dont works.. The Text is still empty, hope u can help me.


Thanks :mrgreen:
B
11
S
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 917

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:18 pm

Well, it works for me, so upload an example.

Reasons for the text to not appear:
Text box smaller than one line of the selected font style

Also I think you want to use MaxSpeed instead of Speed, no?
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 788
Reputation: 3,788

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2014 4:33 pm

It works for me too @PlasmaGames2013 but I often get caught out by the font size v text box height issue.
Image
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 346
Reputation: 1,560

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:27 pm

No, it is not the size of the text/Sprite font..

When I want to show a varriable - no problem.. but when i want to show players behaivor Platform speed, it doesent works.
B
11
S
2
Posts: 93
Reputation: 917

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:12 pm

thats because the way it currently is set up is it sets is once on start on layout. you need to set it to set text every tick or however much you need it updated(like on change).
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Post » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:01 pm

Player.Platform.Speed will show the speed the object is currently moving at, not it's maximum potential speed.

Sounds like you want to show Player.Platform.MaxSpeed.
B
63
S
19
G
8
Posts: 341
Reputation: 12,130


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests