How do I setup a fullscreen terminal?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:56 pm

Hey guys. Ambitious newtimer here.

I am looking into setting up a game created with construct 2 on multiple computers, acting like a terminal that people can interact with. But I don't want the user to be able to just exit fullscreen and close the game through the browser.

How can I setup a computer, that initially boots straight into a fullscreen game upon powerup, without any user interaction at all, and then stay there for a whole day? Are there any alternatives to running a chrome/firefox webbrowser?
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Post » Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:28 pm

You would need to use node-webkit full screen for a start. You would also need software running to capture keyboard input such as control alt del or alt F4 on the pc. Also you may need to disable other keys such as the Windows key.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,197

Post » Sun Mar 30, 2014 9:09 pm

spongehammer wrote:You would need to use node-webkit full screen for a start. You would also need software running to capture keyboard input such as control alt del or alt F4 on the pc. Also you may need to disable other keys such as the Windows key.


Thanks for your reply.. I noticed node webkit required a license, so I bought construct 2 personal and tried to play around with the node webkit. I can't find the 'full screen' option, though. Is the node webkit restricted to a maximized window?
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341

Post » Sun Mar 30, 2014 9:30 pm

Use the Browser object and Request Full Screen.
B
48
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,197

Post » Sun Mar 30, 2014 9:40 pm

"But I don't want the user to be able to just exit fullscreen and close the game through the browser"...

I see user experience is top of your list... so how exactly do you quit this "Game"

don't sound suspect at all...
As long as I can move left, right and fire, I'm Happy...
B
42
S
15
G
11
Posts: 655
Reputation: 12,260

Post » Sun Mar 30, 2014 9:45 pm

He might be wanting to do shop-front display or other such terminals where giving public access to the operating system could be a security risk.

I've not used windows 8 yet, so can't speak to it, but anything v 7 and backwards, you could call your .exe on startup and have it run fullscreen.

I'd leave in some special key-combo you'd know so you could exit though. :)
Image
B
27
S
9
G
5
Posts: 488
Reputation: 11,948

Post » Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:46 am

Thanks a lot. Requesting fullscreen worked an absolute charm.

Oh yeah for what its worth the plan, or the vision, is to have casino games developed on terminals that are all connected to a master server on the local network. The whole game will be touch based, meaning no one should be able to press alt + f4 or leave fullscreen.

construct seems to be the perfect IDE suitable for such a game.
B
3
S
1
Posts: 7
Reputation: 341


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artcadev, brunopalermo, Euduardo, Jackriduk and 30 guests