How do I Setup a list so that it changes the text

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:22 pm

I'm sure this'll already be answered however I can't find any article about this, or I'm missing something big, or both. However I would like to know how to setup a list so that depending on what is selected on the list determines what is displayed on a corresponding textbox.

I'm beginning to think I may need to delve into arrays...
B
5
Posts: 2
Reputation: 229

Post » Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:38 pm

There are always many ways to do something. You can indeed do it with arrays. You can also do it by creating several Text items and depending on which button is pressed you show a different Text item.

E.g.
On pressed of archer sprite spawn Text #1 "I am strong from distance, but have low life"
On pressed of mage sprite spawn Text #2 "I have powerful spells, but need mana"
etc
Thank you to Construct 2 for giving me the ability to create games without programming knowledge.

My games & gaming portal = DolyGames

If anyone wants to cooperate to help each other Win-Win please email me - I am always happy to discover new opportunities.

Cheers,

COSMOS
B
20
S
9
G
1
Posts: 75
Reputation: 2,152

Post » Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:56 pm

B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,477
Reputation: 20,918

Post » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:22 am

Thanks for the quick replies DolyGamesCosmos and 99Instances2Go, the explanation and sample were great and I've got it working (Turns out I was so close!). Thanks again to both of you :mrgreen:
B
5
Posts: 2
Reputation: 229


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest