how do I simulate winds?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:59 pm

Hi
as the title says, any1 know a way to simalate winds during a game?
I tryed using the physics behavior with some 'wind objects' moving horizontaly but they always move alot of things with alot of mass even if I put to be destroyed after contact..
any tips or ideas??
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Thu Dec 23, 2010 5:43 pm

This is me shooting in the dark, but if I thought about trying to implement that, I'd try to have a big invisible sprite/box overlaying a certain section of the level, and if the player was overlapping said sprite or box, I'd change his movement attributes, or have something that constantly pushed him back.

But that's only if you want the player to be affected by the wind.
Check out my VGM on my soundcloud page!
Video-Game Music: E.C.2151
B
7
S
2
G
2
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,561

Post » Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:51 pm

the winds need to work with some boxs that are with physics behavior

but it cant move all of em if there is alot of boxes behind
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:59 pm

[quote="Guif0DA":2se9yh51]the winds need to work with some boxs that are with physics behavior

but it cant move all of em if there is alot of boxes behind[/quote:2se9yh51]

Apply a force to the boxes in the direct of the wind (Possibly making it strong as it get's close to the source. Using maybe the line of sight object, test if the boxes can see the source, if not cut the amount of force WAY down.

EDIT: And certainly include an area of effect box if needed.
B
51
S
10
G
7
Posts: 184
Reputation: 6,825

Post » Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:38 pm

[quote="Yarfapet":u46ugsr1][quote="Guif0DA":u46ugsr1]the winds need to work with some boxs that are with physics behavior

but it cant move all of em if there is alot of boxes behind[/quote:u46ugsr1]

Apply a force to the boxes in the direct of the wind (Possibly making it strong as it get's close to the source. Using maybe the line of sight object, test if the boxes can see the source, if not cut the amount of force WAY down.

EDIT: And certainly include an area of effect box if needed.[/quote:u46ugsr1]
Its an idea too, i'm gonna try it certanly.. but any idea about if there are many boxes side by side it would be hard to move 'em all?

the idea is to make a strong ''base'' so they ill not move by the wind.. the function of the wind is to make the life of the player harder ;)
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Sat Dec 25, 2010 10:48 pm

what do you need the wind to do or move?

physics behavior is huge overkill if you only want a few particles flailing around.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:52 am

Was something like this what you had in mind?
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10316081/wind.cap
B
51
S
10
G
7
Posts: 184
Reputation: 6,825

Post » Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:42 pm

[quote="Yarfapet":3qwwt8xe]Was something like this what you had in mind?
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10316081/wind.cap[/quote:3qwwt8xe]
yes!!!11
had no idea of that force thing, thanks a lot!
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests