How do I spawn different objects from same image point?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Connect the dots in the correct order and draw happy animals!
  • Hello. This is my first post here asking for help. I'm new to programming, but Construct 2 is inviting and I love the wealth of resources posted to this site and youtube, etc.

Here's my issue:

I am creating a game where a gun shoots different types of balls (ping pong, basketballs, beachballs, etc). The ammo types (balls) are displayed in a column in the UI, and the player selects the ball type by moving a square sprite ("BallSelector") over the desired ball (the BallSelector snaps into place using the ball-obects x,y coordinates).

My ultimate goal is to have the same gun spawn (i.e. shoot) whichever ball type is selected by the BallSelector. My thought would be that I could use the "on overlap" condition to have Construct 2 figure out what type of ball the BallSelector is on and then pass that info along to the gun to spawn this object when fired. However, I am not finding how to do this very intuitive. I have tried using families but only get the gun firing random objects from the family randomly. The core of my issue seems to be a general lack of understanding how the read an objects "ID" and then issue a spawn command based on that ID. Again, I am very new to this, and ANY help is appreciated. Thank you!

• Give each ball a ID, and create a variable to have the ID of the selected ball.

Every time the player shoots check the value of the variable and spawn the ball with the same ID.

Hope this helps

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • If the main difference between your projectiles is their textures, you can put them all as part of a single animation in a sprite and set the speed of the animation to 0.