How do I stop a black screen showing

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:23 pm

maybe its a bug if other members not found a solution that fix this problem, i don't have account in the web store to test my game and see how it look :(
B
21
S
8
Posts: 86
Reputation: 1,671

Post » Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:51 pm

Ok, so overall I classify this as a bug, I feel like I have tried everything. I shall copy this thread into the bugs part of the forum for further review, in conclusion please take not of the following:

One of my games where I am having this problem:

http://filebin.ca/29IJ5Mdpg0xb/fittheshapes.capx

Google developer app dump:

http://picpaste.com/Untitled-DHWa32Kl.png

also I have no idea what this means

http://picpaste.com/pics/Untitled2-UeH2 ... 411068.png
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Mon Jul 20, 2015 4:57 pm

B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Mon Jul 20, 2015 11:10 pm

I had an issue like this, and I fixed it by tweaking the manifest file (app.manifest and offline.appcache) location in the raw HTML that Construct exports (since we moved everything around on the backend for security). Once I had these pointed to the actual files, it worked fine.

We are exporting in HTML5.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
Company name changed to avoid Facebook-type shenanigans

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,414
Reputation: 4,822

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:14 am

Could you please be more specific as to what you changed in the manifest file please? What did you change exactly, which manifest file?
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:56 pm

@gumshoe2029 When you have a moment I would really appreciate some clarification here:

1.) You specified you tweaked the manifest file app.manifest and offline.appcache specifically, but what did you tweak specifically? What did you add or take away from each file?

2.) You specified you had these pointed to the actual files, not to sure if you mean this is what you tweaked in the files in point 1, if so do you mean these two files pointed to the entire library of files for that said game?

Please can you clarify this for me, it would be greatly appreciated.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:49 pm

Hey sorry for the delay. I am only on here once every other day or so.

On our server, we have the app.manifest and offline.appcache files located in a non-standard location, so when Construct was looking for them in the 'usual' place (which is in the web application root directory), it was unable to find them and simply displayed a black screen. I had to edit the raw html to adjust the symbolic link (the manifest="offline.appcache" on line 2 and href="app.manifest" on line 7) to point to the actual location of those files, which for us is manifest="/webres/offline.appcache" and href="/webres/app.manifest".

If you use Google Chrome with the Developer Tools running on the Network tab, it will show you if your offline.appcache and app.manifest files are loading properly. If they show up in red in the network tab, then your manifest files are not in the proper location and your game will just load a black screen.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
Company name changed to avoid Facebook-type shenanigans

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,414
Reputation: 4,822

Post » Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:51 pm

Ah many thanks! I will give it a try tomorrow. Thanks for the quick response.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:57 pm

@gumshoe2029 I tried everything you said in the above and still it kept making more errors the more specifically I pointed certain files to there specific directories. If you could take a look at my exported chrome web store version and try and fix it for me and explain to me what was wrong I would greatly appreciate it, or anyone for that matter. The funny thing is the other day I got a chromebook and quickly coded a basic app on there and it worked perfectly using this tutorial https://developer.chrome.com/apps/first_app so I am thinking it could be more to do with certain .js files in the directory, are they corrupted on export or something hence a construct 2 bug???? Just when I open developer in chrome it displays so many errors whether I minify the scripts or not all pointing mainly to all the javscript files such c2runtime.js etc..... again the exported files are as below:


http://filebin.ca/29knWKcpywdV/Drops.zip
B
9
S
3
Posts: 103
Reputation: 1,043

Post » Fri Jul 24, 2015 9:30 pm

I hosted your game on my server, and it works fine. So, all of your Construct stuff is correct. It is definitely a Chrome Web Store issue.
Last edited by gumshoe2029 on Fri Jul 24, 2015 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
Company name changed to avoid Facebook-type shenanigans

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,414
Reputation: 4,822

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Manubis, Ryan Kocourek, TheSupreme, TylerJS and 10 guests