How do I stop sprites from smoothing out?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:14 pm

I've been working on a game for about an hour now, and have most of the sprites I need.
All sprites fall under 64x64 and look crisp and clear before previewing in the browser localhost.
In hopes of removing this automatic smoothing I remade the game using the "retro" template, hoping the preset would have something that removes it.

Can anyone tell me what i need to do to stop this auto-smoothing?
Or is it just me/my browser? (Using Google Chrome)

Please, help.
Thanks in advance.
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 466

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:34 pm

You're using the pixel rounding option? and sampling point?

Change them on the Project Settings.TELLES08082013-03-24 16:35:52
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
Image
B
98
S
21
G
16
Posts: 1,338
Reputation: 21,122

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:39 pm

If I remember right, changing "Sampling" in your projects settings from "Linear" to "Point" will turn off the smoothing in all but Internet Explorer. You can't turn it off in IE.
B
213
S
56
G
30
Posts: 897
Reputation: 37,556

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:41 pm

Sprites might become blurry if you've resized them in the layout editor. Check that the sprites are in fact their original size by clicking on them and then clicking "make 1:1" under properties -> size on the left side of the screen.

As far as I know, the retro template just changes the sampling method from linear to point (ie, no smoothing when resizing sprites).

If you don't come right, share your capx so we can take a better look at the issue.
B
57
S
15
G
10
Posts: 912
Reputation: 12,061

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 4:49 pm

Couldn't get any of the suggestions to work.
Here's a Mediafire link that i just put up, please note the game is just so i can get to grips with the mechanism of Construct for future game making.
http://www.mediafire.com/?d7558vlsasqxc8x
It's also for a friend.
Thanks for all the replies.
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 466

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:06 pm

It looks pixelly here in Chrome, since the project Sampling property is set to Point. Which browser are you using?
Scirra Founder
B
373
S
218
G
84
Posts: 23,440
Reputation: 186,070

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:17 pm

Chrome too. Not sure if it's the browser, the sprites, my PC or Construct itself
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 466

Post » Sun Mar 24, 2013 9:06 pm

Seems like it was Chromes fault.
Tried w/ Firefox and it came out perfect. Hope it's like this when published to the arcade.
B
4
Posts: 8
Reputation: 466


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nb027, oddreal, rijsco and 6 guests