How do I store sprites in memory corectly ?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:21 pm

Hi guys, from what i understand is that C2 stores all sprites of the layout in the memory. My questions are this: Does it store from layout to layout...or ALL sprites of the entire game ?
Is it wise to do this: One layout with all sprites that I do NOT use as game layout...but just as canvas where to copy and paste soprites for the other layouts ? Example... if in layout 5 there are no ememies. I simply do not copy paste them there.... is that a correct procedure ????

thanks :)
B
37
S
16
G
2
Posts: 451
Reputation: 4,873

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:09 pm

https://www.scirra.com/manual/183/memory-usage

Layout by layout only. A sprite will only be loaded into memory if it exists on that layout.
Mistakes were made.
B
53
S
27
G
114
Posts: 1,698
Reputation: 64,444

Post » Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:27 pm

Worth to mention that if the sprite which has been loaded in the current layout also exists in the next layout, then it will remain in the memory and won't be reloaded (there is no need then). All other sprites will be released from the memory.
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests