How do I switch Layout Size?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 4:41 pm

Hey guys. I built my game using the "new empty project" option that first appears when creating a new game.

Now that I want to export my game to fit multiple devices, I want to switch to the "new sd portrait 4:3 project".
I tried looking at the project properties but it just doesn't seem to give me the option.

Now at least simply Copy-Paste Objects from from project to project but the events are the problem.

Is there a way to switch layout size?
Image Image Image
B
32
S
12
G
27
Posts: 761
Reputation: 17,244

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 5:53 pm

You want to change the window size, which can be found under project properties
The layout size can be set when you select the layout at the right menu
B
22
S
4
G
3
Posts: 64
Reputation: 2,689

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 6:02 pm

That's the problem. I can't seem to set window size to 4:3. It doesn't give me that option.
What if I want to run my game on a device that has 1800 x 960 resolution or something? The sprites will appear all stretched?
Image Image Image
B
32
S
12
G
27
Posts: 761
Reputation: 17,244

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 6:43 pm

B
22
S
4
G
3
Posts: 64
Reputation: 2,689

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 7:12 pm

From page 1:

"The short version: don't target one resolution
A common misconception is that you need to target a specific resolution, like 1280x720. However, there are so many different resolutions used that it's ridiculous to pick just one. It's much better to pick an aspect ratio, then scale the game to fit that. For example, instead of 1280x720, target the 16:9 aspect ratio. (Just enter any 16:9 resolution for the window size in Project Properties.) Enable Letterbox scale in the Fullscreen-in-browser project property, and now your game should appear correctly on any 16:9 resolution."

From what I understand, if you want your game to appear on a 16:9 (or in my case 4:3 ratio) you HAVE TO pick the "SD 16:9 project" or "SD 4:3 project" when first selecting your project before inserting even the first object or event. There doesn't seem to be a way to do that. The Project Properties thingie only allows me to TYPE IN my desired resolution.
Am I misunderstanding this tutorial?
Image Image Image
B
32
S
12
G
27
Posts: 761
Reputation: 17,244

Post » Thu May 19, 2016 8:10 pm

just insert any resolution with the ratio you want and apply fullscreen letterbox scale or integer scale if pixel style game
if device is larger or smaller than the ratio you inserted, there will be black areas in order to avoid stretching
B
22
S
4
G
3
Posts: 64
Reputation: 2,689

Post » Fri May 20, 2016 6:24 am

Tuiii wrote:just insert any resolution with the ratio you want and apply fullscreen letterbox scale or integer scale if pixel style game
if device is larger or smaller than the ratio you inserted, there will be black areas in order to avoid stretching


Great! Thank you so much!
Image Image Image
B
32
S
12
G
27
Posts: 761
Reputation: 17,244


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests