How do I switch to letterbox integer mode in run time?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 19, 2016 6:50 pm

I'm working on some cross-platform projects, and have an issue. I want to use scale outer on mobile devices, but on desktop displays, this becomes unsustainable as the screen and resolution are just too different. Is there a way to switch the display mode at run time or some how emulate letterbox integer mode? I don't know of a way to center the layout according to the canvas. I need my game to be fullscreen on mobile but on desktop it's scaled up too much.

Is there a technical reason we don't have an event for this? If it's possible, I may be willing to pay for a plugin.

Here's a diagram of what I need:
Image

I know there is a fullscreen browser event, but again I don't want fullscreen.
B
68
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,238

Post » Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:35 am

Sorry to say the following but this will also end up dead like the two previous requests for this.
HERE is my request if you're interested...

I have several friends that know JS quiet well that tried to "break" into the engines code and
make it possible for us to do this with a plugin or whatever.
Most of them failed or got weird results, either Ashley doesn't want this feature because it causes issues with
certain parts of the engine or browsers cause problems so that Ashley is not able to implement that currently.

These are all speculations though because no one seems to care about this feature that much to provide us with more information.
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 636
Reputation: 43,961

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:19 pm

TheRealDannyyy wrote:Sorry to say the following but this will also end up dead like the two previous requests for this.
HERE is my request if you're interested...

I have several friends that know JS quiet well that tried to "break" into the engines code and
make it possible for us to do this with a plugin or whatever.
Most of them failed or got weird results, either Ashley doesn't want this feature because it causes issues with
certain parts of the engine or browsers cause problems so that Ashley is not able to implement that currently.

These are all speculations though because no one seems to care about this feature that much to provide us with more information.


I figured it would be something like this. It's really unfortunate because it's somewhat of a standard feature, and can be important for professional developers. How close where your friends able to get? I wish we didn't have to hack a solution but if one is possible I would be willing to pay for it.

I'm also not sure that it is a technical issue because people can do this in game maker just fine. I'll forward a feature request, but this really is not good for construct 2. It's ridiculous to have a game scale up so much on huge monitors, and I really need a way to prevent this.
Last edited by ReflextionsDev on Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
68
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,238

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:45 pm

@ReflextionsDev

I tried myself and I figured out it's kinda C2 that is made like this. Basically you can do it but you have to refresh the layout to "apply" the effect.
Maybe I miss something.
http://armaldio.xyz - Image - Join now our Discord Server ;) - https://discord.gg/0eLPLj96B4tUr1D3

If you like my work you can donate some bucks ;)

Image
B
55
S
16
G
1
Posts: 245
Reputation: 5,648

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:01 pm

armaldio wrote:@ReflextionsDev

I tried myself and I figured out it's kinda C2 that is made like this. Basically you can do it but you have to refresh the layout to "apply" the effect.
Maybe I miss something.


That shouldn't be too much of an issue for me, as I could detect the device during loading and refresh. This is just the layout and not the actual web page right? Would you be able to disclose your method?
B
68
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,238

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:02 pm

@ReflextionsDev

Maybe I can try to do a plugin
http://armaldio.xyz - Image - Join now our Discord Server ;) - https://discord.gg/0eLPLj96B4tUr1D3

If you like my work you can donate some bucks ;)

Image
B
55
S
16
G
1
Posts: 245
Reputation: 5,648

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:22 pm

ReflextionsDev wrote:
TheRealDannyyy wrote:Sorry to say the following but this will also end up dead like the two previous requests for this.
HERE is my request if you're interested...

I have several friends that know JS quiet well that tried to "break" into the engines code and
make it possible for us to do this with a plugin or whatever.
Most of them failed or got weird results, either Ashley doesn't want this feature because it causes issues with
certain parts of the engine or browsers cause problems so that Ashley is not able to implement that currently.

These are all speculations though because no one seems to care about this feature that much to provide us with more information.


I figured it would be something like this. It's really unfortunate because it's somewhat of a standard feature, and can be important for professional developers. How close where your friends able to get? I wish we didn't have to hack a solution but if one is possible I would be willing to pay for it.
...

Armaldio was the only one that found out more details on how the system actually works,
I wanted to get him here to explain further but well he magically appeared by himself. :P

One side note, neither Armaldio or myself said that we "hacked" Constuct 2.
We tried to achieve something with existing legal resources given by the software itself.
We don't want to get in trouble for things that we didn't do or tried to do. 8-)
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 636
Reputation: 43,961

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:07 am

@armaldio

Please keep me up to date if you do! Do you have an estimated time frame?

@TheRealDannyyy

Sorry when I said "hack" I didn't mean it in the illegal sort but more off that we might be forced to cobble together a plugin or some other solution since we aren't given one up front.
B
68
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,238

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:11 am

@ReflextionsDev

Just check your PMs ;)
http://armaldio.xyz - Image - Join now our Discord Server ;) - https://discord.gg/0eLPLj96B4tUr1D3

If you like my work you can donate some bucks ;)

Image
B
55
S
16
G
1
Posts: 245
Reputation: 5,648


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FlyingRam and 9 guests