How do I sync a text in multiplayer?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Nov 26, 2015 6:34 pm

I have a login screen where you type in your username and that stuff. That works when you (host or peer) join the game but the other players doesn't see what the name is. It doesn't synchronize to the peers. I have it as a instance variable on my hosts character but the name-text-object just shows as default to peers, I'm guessing I need to synch the text-instance-variable but that doesn't seem to work.
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:01 pm

bump
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:50 pm

Do you mean the Multiplayer.MyAlias ?
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:53 pm

@LittleStain yeah, I set a instance variable to MyAlias when you login, but the text reverts to default for the other peers when they join. Will upload a .capx in a minute
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:03 pm

Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Sun Nov 29, 2015 3:51 pm

bump
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Tue Dec 01, 2015 2:32 pm

bump 2
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:25 pm

If you use syncronised variables, only numbers are allowed.
Who dares wins
B
56
S
16
G
21
Posts: 1,875
Reputation: 19,406

Post » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:46 pm

@lennaert Do you know any way to sync it with a string? Read something about using the host broadcast message but that seems a bit too advanced for it
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Post » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:53 pm

@lennaert maybe it's not even necessary to sync the text? The position is synced and works but it's the name of the host-player that I want it to show up as
Website Twitter Indie Developer
B
20
S
6
G
4
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,954

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Particle games and 8 guests