How do I tell if any event in a group was triggered?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:46 pm

Let's say I have a group filled with events - is there a way to tell if any event in that group was triggered?

Currently I have to put a Global variable set in nearly all of these events, but it would be MUCH easier (and more dependable) if there was a way to tell it that way.

Is this possible?
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:21 pm

Did u try using breakpoints?
B
8
S
1
G
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 632

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:26 pm

I mean for the app, not for myself to know if it did work or not. Or are breakpoints also usable as triggers for events without debug mode?
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:32 pm

I don't know really. Just though't i'd suggest it because it would trigger the breakpoint at that particular point. That way you kno its attempting to trigger it.
B
8
S
1
G
1
Posts: 96
Reputation: 632

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:34 pm

Yeah, the thing is the app needs to know, not me, I already know :)

If there's no way this could be a decent feature.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:14 am

Mild bump. As it's still relevant - adding set global var to countless events seems inefficient.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:27 am

I don't think being in a group makes any difference to the question? AFAIK there's no built in trick to knowing if an event is executed, but that would be some handy meta-info to be able to grab when needed :)
B
24
S
9
G
4
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 6,596

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:31 am

Being in a group does make a difference - if it's just a single event then tripping a global variable is a piece of cake, if there's tens of them and you'd like some to trigger it and others not it's quite laborous changing the vars every time.
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:37 am

Somebody wrote:Being in a group does make a difference - if it's just a single event then tripping a global variable is a piece of cake, if there's tens of them and you'd like some to trigger it and others not it's quite laborous changing the vars every time.


From your use case yes, but I meant if there's a way of knowing any event has fired, then it will also work for events in groups. Anyway sounds like a handy feature, but how would you reference the event?
B
24
S
9
G
4
Posts: 1,646
Reputation: 6,596

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2015 6:57 am

Hence the groups: If event in group "X" has fired
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests