How do I test multiplayer system without other person

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:03 pm

I'm reading the tutorials of how to make multiplayer games. Right now I'm going to study the chat room template. However, I don't have anyone to test it.

So is it possible to test multiplayer games opening two versions of the project on my Pc and simulate the data traffic between two persons?

I know that the perfect test would be with another player, but right now i'm just seeing how it works.
B
56
S
21
G
3
Posts: 602
Reputation: 6,612

Post » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:21 pm

Why not try it out (perhaps with 2 different browsers). Iirc it's possible to test it even in preview.
Visual Novel 'Engine' in 100 Events
if you ever have to choose between buying Construct 2 on scirra.com or on Steam, read this: Review
B
22
S
9
G
1
Posts: 787
Reputation: 3,786

Post » Thu Oct 01, 2015 7:38 pm

@mindfaQ

But that's what I want. I just don't know how to properly test it this way.

Edit: I tested using chrome and nw.js. Pretty nice :P. But I don't know if it's me testing a real multiplayer experience or a just local experience which wouldn't ever be compared to a real experience where both are miles and miles away from each other.
B
56
S
21
G
3
Posts: 602
Reputation: 6,612

Post » Fri Oct 02, 2015 10:47 am

When you open your preview in chrome, hit CTRL + Shift + N for an incognito browser and navigate to your preview address.

This second incognito instance will act and behave like a separate browser entity, not mixing up the connections or overwriting local storage data.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Thu May 18, 2017 10:23 am

Hello,

When I copy the testing domain into an incognito tab or into another browser i just get a black window + "Loading..." in the tabs title.

I'm previewing the multiplayer chat example in Construct 3.

Anybody having the same issues?
Chris Hinz

Design, visual development and illustration

www.hinz-art.com
B
7
S
1
Posts: 48
Reputation: 538

Post » Thu May 18, 2017 1:59 pm

Try a browser restart and clear cache and file
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cubus32, tarek2, Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests