How do I trigger game over?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 1:41 pm

Hi,

I've been banging my head against this for days but can't get it working, so I'm here asking for help ..again..

My game has you releasing balls into scoring zones and I want to trigger game over when:-

a: your remaining balls = 0
and
b: all the balls have stopped moving.

I cannot seem to get it to work, either my game over text never triggers or it triggers too early.

Here is my capx. (remove the spaces in the url)
h t t p ://wikisend. com/download/457046/10balls.capx
B
6
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 556

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:03 pm

I think you'd like it something like this:

10 Balls Improved
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:15 pm

I couldn't download without allowing cookies (no chance) but have looked at the amended LittleStain version.

Good work, OldieSteve.

Nice and simple, with good gameplay.

Now stop being so hard on yourself!!!! :)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
132
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,655

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:18 pm

zenox98 wrote:I couldn't download without allowing cookies (no chance) but have looked at the amended LittleStain version.

Good work, OldieSteve.

Nice and simple, with good gameplay.

Now stop being so hard on yourself!!!! :)


It is indeed a nice little game..

(added the restart with spacebar-event and highscore setting just to be able to keep playing)
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:46 pm

(added the restart with spacebar-event and highscore setting just to be able to keep playing)


You missed to set 'balls' back to 10 :)

@OldieSteve
I would set in the Ball-Physic Collision-Mask to Circle and 'Prevent rotation' to No. That could improve the physic and prevent that balls get stuck.
B
24
S
3
G
1
Posts: 451
Reputation: 2,165

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 2:54 pm

Asmodean wrote:
(added the restart with spacebar-event and highscore setting just to be able to keep playing)


You missed to set 'balls' back to 10 :)

@OldieSteve
I would set in the Ball-Physic Collision-Mask to Circle and 'Prevent rotation' to No. That could improve the physic and prevent that balls get stuck.


Seems like you were one minute too soon downloading..
Already fixed that.. :)
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 3:03 pm

Thanks a lot for all the help and kind comments!

Sadly I cannot load the file into my C2 as it says it was made with a later version. I would have thought mine would have updated to the new one too but I guess not.

Would it be asking too much for you to post a screengrab of the changes?

I guess in the meantime I need to contact Scirra and see why mine hasn't updated. thanks again!
B
6
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 556

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 3:08 pm

It was made with stable release 216

Downloadable from here:
https://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases/r216


In the meantime here's the screenshot:

Image
Last edited by LittleStain on Fri Nov 06, 2015 3:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 3:09 pm

@OldieSteve

Are you using the Steam version? If yes, then Steam should do this - nothing to do with Scirra.

If not, then just download the latest stable from the footer of the forum.

IF you can't update for some reason, let us know what version you have - it's easy to alter the file for any version (as long as newer features are not used).
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
132
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,655

Post » Fri Nov 06, 2015 8:56 pm

Thanks a lot, I've updated now and I'm running the latest version.

also thanks to everyone that helped, you're so kind.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 73
Reputation: 556


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron