How do I use different sizes of layouts and window size?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Mar 17, 2014 1:17 pm

Hello there!

I'm making a highly pixelated title with resolution 256*144 throughout the main layouts. I have some 1920*1080 layouts (for example the studio logo before the game) to keep them sharp even in fullscreen. I'm not sure how do I achieve it. My project resolution is 256*144. Should I increase my project resolution to 1080p and upscale somehow the layouts to keep them sharp?

Another problem I'm having is that I want to have the default window at 1280*720 independently of my layout resolutions. Is that possible?
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 265

Post » Mon Mar 17, 2014 4:44 pm

hi!

i think you can use, action, system: set canvas size for this,

you can do this on start of layout..

this is also a way to control resolution, if you use fullscreen scaling, the smaller you set the canvas,
well obviously the smaller the resolution will be, but it will still use fullscreen, so a small canvas will have a pixelated look,
a higher canvas will look sharper

you will probably run in the same old, what about different orientation, screensizes, euhm do a forumsearch :)
ImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,177

Post » Mon Mar 17, 2014 5:43 pm

Oh, hell yeah!
Thanks for the tip, I solved with a single line:
System: On start of layout > System: Set layout scale to 0.133333333
(0.133333333 is 256/1920)

Also, solved the window scale problem:
System: On start of layout > System: Set canvas size to 1280*720
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 265

Post » Mon Mar 17, 2014 5:52 pm

Only problem is, when I export the project to desktop, it won't open in a 1280*720 window in default but rather in the project's low resolution. Any idea?
B
5
Posts: 19
Reputation: 265

Post » Mon Mar 17, 2014 6:55 pm

damn, lost my post.. using nodewebkit? not used to it, but there is official node webkit plugin, for more options like maximize, or your starting the wrong layout,you can select first layout in projectsettings, other than that i need more info

not sure if manual layout scaling is the best option, but its difficult to tell without seeying the project
ImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
7
Posts: 827
Reputation: 10,177


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests