How do I use very large background

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:44 pm

LittleStain wrote:
lennaert wrote:Do as google does, slice it up in parts.


Which will only help if you dynamically load and unload them from memory, right?
Which construct 2 doesn't do as far as I know..
All images on a layout are loaded into memory at start of layout..

https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory




Slicing it up in parts will aid the rendering. (Image not on screen etc)

Also, some devices are unable to handle image of enormous sizes.


He could, divide the sliced parts over layouts too. i.e. have 4 pieces on each layout, the cross section in the middle, if you come close to one of the layout edges, load the other layout corresponding to images.



example, the 4 squares would be layouts, the transparent squares image parts.

Image

This could greatly reduce the performance problem. It just requires a bit of smart approach :)
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,552

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:58 pm

Yeah it works but unfortunately it covers all of the sprites.
B
15
S
2
G
1
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,902

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 4:59 pm

lennaert wrote:
LittleStain wrote:
lennaert wrote:Do as google does, slice it up in parts.


Which will only help if you dynamically load and unload them from memory, right?
Which construct 2 doesn't do as far as I know..
All images on a layout are loaded into memory at start of layout..

https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory




Slicing it up in parts will aid the rendering. (Image not on screen etc)

Also, some devices are unable to handle image of enormous sizes.


He could, divide the sliced parts over layouts too. i.e. have 4 pieces on each layout, the cross section in the middle, if you come close to one of the layout edges, load the other layout corresponding to images.



example, the 4 squares would be layouts, the transparent squares image parts.

Image

This could greatly reduce the performance problem. It just requires a bit of smart approach :)

I agree this seems the best way, at the moment the background won't run on iOS due to how large the bg is, so hopefully this helps.
B
15
S
2
G
1
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,902

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:01 pm

Does anybody know, how to compile static maps covering a large area with large zoom e.g. cover whole of Manchester on one image on 19 zoom? Other than manually.
B
15
S
2
G
1
Posts: 108
Reputation: 1,902

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 10:30 pm

lennaert wrote:
LittleStain wrote:
lennaert wrote:Do as google does, slice it up in parts.


Which will only help if you dynamically load and unload them from memory, right?
Which construct 2 doesn't do as far as I know..
All images on a layout are loaded into memory at start of layout..

https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory




Slicing it up in parts will aid the rendering. (Image not on screen etc)

Also, some devices are unable to handle image of enormous sizes.


He could, divide the sliced parts over layouts too. i.e. have 4 pieces on each layout, the cross section in the middle, if you come close to one of the layout edges, load the other layout corresponding to images.



example, the 4 squares would be layouts, the transparent squares image parts.

Image

This could greatly reduce the performance problem. It just requires a bit of smart approach :)


an .capx example to understand better what you want to explain ?
B
44
S
16
G
8
Posts: 791
Reputation: 8,279

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2015 1:13 pm

Just googled "google maps webgl api".
Aparently there's already some experimentation on getting it into there.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
163
Posts: 8,218
Reputation: 105,055

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2015 9:03 pm

lennaert wrote:Do as google does, slice it up in parts.


Which will only help if you dynamically load and unload them from memory, right?
Which construct 2 doesn't do as far as I know..
All images on a layout are loaded into memory at start of layout..

https://www.scirra.com/blog/112/remembe ... our-memory[/quote]



Slicing it up in parts will aid the rendering. (Image not on screen etc)

Also, some devices are unable to handle image of enormous sizes.


He could, divide the sliced parts over layouts too. i.e. have 4 pieces on each layout, the cross section in the middle, if you come close to one of the layout edges, load the other layout corresponding to images.



example, the 4 squares would be layouts, the transparent squares image parts.

Image

This could greatly reduce the performance problem. It just requires a bit of smart approach :)[/quote]
I agree this seems the best way, at the moment the background won't run on iOS due to how large the bg is, so hopefully this helps.[/quote]

any .capx to understand better ? thanks
B
44
S
16
G
8
Posts: 791
Reputation: 8,279

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:18 pm

matrixreal wrote:[
any .capx to understand better ? thanks


I forgot it after I saw it the first time, I had another example of something similar with a platformer going round in loops with layouts.

But I made a small new one to show.

demo

capx

I used red circles as images, but they could all be separate images of a larger image placed strategically on the right corners.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,552

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Apollo14, Lordshiva1948, Meqara, mrkaio, Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest