How do I utilize Admob in my games? Any EASY way?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:28 am

JLH1964:

Wow!!! For the first time, I now see ads after I exported it using Intel XDK. WooHoo!!!! Thank YOU soooooooooooooooo much!!

I'm now going to TRY and upload it to Amazon and see if it works.... but I am FINALLY making progress thanks to your awesome help.. Thanks again very very much.

While I wait for Amazon, I hope you don't mind, but I do have a couple of quick questions:

1. After I build/export the program in Intel XDK, I get the following message:
"Warning: Crosswalk 7 uses an insecure version of OpenSSL and may be rejected by the Google Play Store. Use Crosswalk 10 if you plan to distribute via the Google Play Store." <-- Any idea how to fix this? I goofed something up somewhere evidently.

2. While in Intel XDK, it asks me two questions that I'm not sure how to answer:
"Minimum Android Version" <-- what number should I put here?
"Target Android Version" <-- what number should I put here?


Also.. I did try your suggestion of using the interstitial ads but it totally got in the way of my crappy little game, so for now, I changed it back to "banner ads" but I totally see why the interstitial ads work a lot better. Could you do me a favor and send me the name or link of a game or two you made using the interstitial ads on the amazon store? I'd love to check out your creations and see how you incorporated those ads into the game.

Thanks again sooooooooooooooooooooooooo much for your help. Seriously. I NEVER would have figured it out without your help. I have a strong hunch, I'll hit a few more snags trying to get it to work on Amazon, but thanks to you, I'm FINALLY seeing the ads popping up. :)


Doh!!! I JUST tried uploading to Amazon and now get this error:
"Failed to upload binary. The package name of the uploaded binary does not match the one in the previous version. Contact us for more information." <-- Any idea how to fix this? I don't remember what the 'package name' was in my prior version. :(
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:43 am

Good job. :)

Once you figure it out once, you will be all set. Glad to be of help. See my answers inline. I answered what I could. :)

1. After I build/export the program in Intel XDK, I get the following message:
"Warning: Crosswalk 7 uses an insecure version of OpenSSL and may be rejected by the Google Play Store. Use Crosswalk 10 if you plan to distribute via the Google Play Store." <-- Any idea how to fix this? I goofed something up somewhere evidently.

This is a known bug in XDK. From XDK, go to BUILD SETTINGS -> ANDROID-CROSSWALK -> CROSSWALK VERSION - Change from 'stable' to 'beta' The beta version fixes this issue when you build your app - it uses version 10.

2. While in Intel XDK, it asks me two questions that I'm not sure how to answer:
"Minimum Android Version" <-- what number should I put here?
"Target Android Version" <-- what number should I put here?

I use '10' and '19' respectively.

Doh!!! I JUST tried uploading to Amazon and now get this error:
"Failed to upload binary. The package name of the uploaded binary does not match the one in the previous version. Contact us for more information." <-- Any idea how to fix this? I don't remember what the 'package name' was in my prior version.


You can find the package name of your app here (on your Amazon Dev account). The package name must match the original. It will be in the form:


com.mycompny.myapp
(listed next to 'Package' below)

Capture.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:51 am

JLH1964: Thank you soooooooooooooooooo much for your never ending help and support. There is simply NO way that I would have figured this stuff out on my own (i.e. changing it to 'beta'). I REALLY do appreciate your help. When you get a chance, definitely do let me know the name of a game or two you created so I can download it from Amazon and try it on my Tablet. I'd loved to see what you've created and how you've incorporated the ads into the game as well.

The suggestion you had with locating the package name worked perfectly. I eventually realized I had to change it inside the Intel XPK program where it asks for "App ID". :)

PS: I JUST uploaded the game to Amazon where it is getting reviewed. I intentionally UNselected "Kindle Fire(1st Gen)" as a device that the game is not compatible with since Amazon flagged it last time -- I'm still not sure why since when I created the game using Cocoon JS instead of Intel XDK, Amazon didn't flag it.. but in light of the tons of problems I had, I just UNselected it with Amazon -- particularly since you pointed out its a pretty old device anyway...

Keep your fingers crossed that it will finally work on Amazon with the ads. I'll likely know in a day or so when I hear back from Amazon. Regardless, thanks sooooooooooooo much. If you were in the NJ area, I'd buy you lunch! :)
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 5:11 am

Wow! Very cool, @JLH1964 Thanks.

Now I can make my game free :D People will just have a few banners on the opening and config screens.
B
28
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,940

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 5:53 am

My pleasure guys. Just 'paying it forwards' for all the help I've received on forums over the years. :)
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 3:57 pm

You are going to HATE me, but I just heard back from Amazon. It seems my entire game was rejected even though I UNselected "Kindle Fire(1st Gen)". I know it CANNOT be the game because when I used cocoon js the game NEVER got rejected. So there must be a wrong setting using the Intel XDK program -- or maybe Amazon doesn't like the AdMob settings in Intel XDK!?! Argh... I cannot believe I'm STILL trying to get this to work. :(

Any idea what the heck I can do/change on the Intel XDK so it satisifes Amazon? Again.. if I compile it with Cocoon JS, the game works perfect and Amazon doesn't have a problem with it. The problem is, however, that I can't get the AdMob to work in Cocoon JS since they require me to do a bunch of other stuff. PLEASE PLEASE help... I've now gotten a game with ads to work, but now it won't work with Amazon so I'm stuck again. :(

Here is the exact message I received from Amazon rejecting my game after I used Intel XDK. But once again, if I use cocoon js, the game does not get rejected.



Your app has failed a test case.

Bug Description:App is unstable

Steps to Reproduce:

1.Install and launch the app.
2.On launch app force closes.
Actual results: On launch app force closes.
Excepted results: App should launch successfully without force close.

Device(s):

Nexus 7 - 4.3.X
Kindle Fire (2nd Gen).
Kindle Fire HD 7 (2nd Gen)
Fire HD 8.9 Wifi (2nd Gen)
Fire HD 8.9 WAN (2nd Gen)
Fire phone

AND

1.Install and launch the app.
2.On launch app exits to device home screen.
Actual results: On launch app exits to device home screen.
Excepted results: App should launch successfully without exiting to device home screen.

Device(S):

Kindle Fire HD 7 (3rd Gen)
Fire HDX 7 WAN (3rd Gen)
Fire HDX 7 WiFi (3rd Gen)
Fire HDX 8.9 WAN (3rd Gen)
Fire HDX 8.9 WiFi (3rd Gen)
Fire HD 6 (4th Gen)
Fire HD 7 (4th Gen)
Fire HDX 8.9 WAN (4th Gen)
Fire HDX 8.9 WiFi (4th Gen)


Please correct the issue(s) we found with your app submission.
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 5:16 pm

That appears to be an issue with your app itself and not Admob / build releated.

Does it pass the tests on Amazons 'App Tester' ?

https://developer.amazon.com/public/res ... ng-service
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 8:04 pm

JLH1964:

Here is the latest... I attempted to utilize the 'App Tester' at the above link. It kept reporting that it would crash in those tests.

After COUNTLESS changes in construct 2, just out of desperation, I removed ALL instructions on each page of the game that said:

System -- On Start of Layout -- AdMobAds -- Preload banner ad
System -- On Start of Layout -- AdMobAds -- Preload interstitial


I now JUST tested the Construct 2 game using the 'App Tester' at the above link. And now, for whatever absurd reason, Amazon is not reporting any errors or crashes. Hence, I JUST re-submitted the game back to Amazon. I will see if that works.

Hence.. I have NO idea whatsoever, but if this works, I do NOT recommend that anybody use these commands because it clearly was causing crashing according to Amazon which I don't understand:

System -- On Start of Layout -- AdMobAds -- Preload banner ad
System -- On Start of Layout -- AdMobAds -- Preload interstitial


I'll let you know if Amazon approves the game now or not -- that I removed the above two commands from the game. <-- I have NO idea why this would cause a problem, but whatever. I just want to see if I can get the damn thing to display ads and have it approved in Amazon.

As always Mr. JLH1964, I soooooooooo owe you big time. You have no idea how tempted I am to toss the whole damn computer system through the window at this point. There is simply no way I'd figure this stuff out without your never ending help. So again, many many thanks. :)
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

Post » Sun Feb 22, 2015 9:25 pm

Congrats on figuring it out. its not 'necessary' to preload and without preload it may take a second or two extra to trigger ads to show - not a big deal. However, ads should still work. Ive used preload with no issues but lets take 'baby steps' and at least get your app listed with some kind of ads being shown - the details can be fixed later.

Sounds like your on your way. Your next app will go much easier now that you've gotten your feet wet.

As always, your welcome and I look forwards to the good news of your listing on Amazon. ;)
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Mon Feb 23, 2015 3:33 am

Oh Geez... Guess what. I hit another problem.. I was making progress with Amazon and decided to submit an updated version. However, I now get this error:

"Failed to upload binary. This apk's version code 20,001 is being used elsewhere."

I went back into Intel XPK and made sure that I changed my "App Version" and "App Version Code" to a 2 (instead of a 1). However, this did not fix the problem. I have absolutely NO idea where amazon came up with the number "20,001".

Wait!! I just went back to Amazon and looked at the currently approved game. It says: "Version code 20001." <-- but where/how the heck do I change this so when I submit my updated game, it uses a different number? I don't see anywhere in Intel XDK where that number is or came from.

PS: Out of desperation, I also just changed the "App Version Code" in Intel XDK to "20002" just to see if that works. Guess what. It worked!?! After it uploaded the file successfully, it says the new Version code "40002" !?!?! Any idea what the heck is going on?? Does this mean every time I need to upload a newer version of the game, I simply pick a number greater than the last "version code"??
B
9
S
2
Posts: 111
Reputation: 1,010

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lancifer and 1 guest