How do you make buttons invisible without them not working?

Discuss game development design and post your game ideas

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:40 am

I made a game and done want the big blue start button to be there, but when i make it invisible it doesn't work, How do I fix this? :?:
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 187

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:14 am

Use a big blue Sprite.
Add Mouse object.

Mouse > Condition > On object clicked

Invisible Buttons indeed do not work.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2016 6:33 pm

chroma wrote:I made a game and done want the big blue start button to be there, but when i make it invisible it doesn't work, How do I fix this? :?:


Instead of changing visibility, change opacity.

0 for Invisible, 100 for Visible.
Check out my games:

Space Project
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,626

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:13 am

Phaelitico wrote:
chroma wrote:I made a game and done want the big blue start button to be there, but when i make it invisible it doesn't work, How do I fix this? :?:


Instead of changing visibility, change opacity.

0 for Invisible, 100 for Visible.


This.

If you need something to still be able to register conditions like mouse click, just set opacity to 0 and you can still use it for collisions and so-forth.

Setting anything invisible will not work with many actions, except for things like setting instance variables or position etc.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
83
S
34
G
40
Posts: 3,032
Reputation: 30,474

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 7:58 am

Alright, I have selected the button and I have no idea how to change opacity. There is no opacity selection button for me.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:06 am

yeah.. Set visible.. That guy missunderstanding
I just corious , are you making the button visible or it visible it self?
B
13
S
5
G
4
Posts: 119
Reputation: 3,353

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 8:13 am

chroma wrote:Alright, I have selected the button and I have no idea how to change opacity. There is no opacity selection button for me.


It should be on the properties bar, the first section where you define things like size, position, there's a opacity option.
Check out my games:

Space Project
B
8
S
3
G
2
Posts: 12
Reputation: 1,626

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 10:08 am

Nah, mine doesn't say anything about opacity, I wish I could send you a picture of my screen.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:39 pm

Ofcourse you cant set the opacity of a button. Not even with the opacity of its layer.
Maybe in CSS, that i dont know.

Again.

Use a big blue Sprite.
Add Mouse object.

Mouse > Condition > On object clicked

Invisible Buttons indeed do not work.
B
33
S
18
G
28
Posts: 2,493
Reputation: 20,950

Post » Mon Jun 06, 2016 2:59 pm

99Instances2Go wrote:Ofcourse you cant set the opacity of a button. Not even with the opacity of its layer.
Maybe in CSS, that i dont know.

Again.

Use a big blue Sprite.
Add Mouse object.

Mouse > Condition > On object clicked

Invisible Buttons indeed do not work.



You should try this...
B
13
S
5
G
4
Posts: 119
Reputation: 3,353

Next

Return to Game Development, Design & Ideas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests