How far off is the debug mode with fps

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 2:27 am

Is it a true representation of the fps you'll get after export or is it usually lower?

I've ran a few different games through the debugger, mine and other examples i've aquired over the last year and the all are around 30 -45 fps.
B
38
S
18
G
19
Posts: 664
Reputation: 14,107

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:55 am

It is fair, just make sure you are not on the default main debug page, as that can use a noticeable amount of CPU.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
109
Posts: 1,615
Reputation: 61,651

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 11:42 am

What do you mean by 'default main debug page'?
B
38
S
18
G
19
Posts: 664
Reputation: 14,107

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 6:33 pm

So i added a textbox to show fps and cpu % during lan testing, would that be closer to what can be expected?
B
38
S
18
G
19
Posts: 664
Reputation: 14,107

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:00 pm

Debuggers always have a performance impact - to truly test without the overhead of the debugger, you have to make measurements in non-debug (normal) preview mode.
Scirra Founder
B
398
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,428
Reputation: 194,600

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:02 pm

Put the debugger in a different tab, that generally helps a lot.
B
71
S
24
G
11
Posts: 452
Reputation: 12,350

Post » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:10 pm

Yeah when I run the debugger it lags but the normal game is fine. I don't use the debugger to track performance.
B
46
S
16
G
78
Posts: 2,168
Reputation: 46,353

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:54 am

Ashley wrote:Debuggers always have a performance impact - to truly test without the overhead of the debugger, you have to make measurements in non-debug (normal) preview mode.



Do you mean putting a textbox with the fps and cpu % expression you've written about?
B
38
S
18
G
19
Posts: 664
Reputation: 14,107

Post » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:02 am

By what oosyrag means, it's the main information you see below upon onn launching a debug preview. All your global variables, the cpu/memory loads, etc. It's called System, as noted on the list on the left side of the debugger.

It's also true, monitoring things with System as the main focused debug window will give you significant fps drops. Switch to a different object, such as a sprite or an array and the fps will usually go up instantly, if not after a couple of seconds, jump back to 60 FPS or so.

So i added a textbox to show fps and cpu % during lan testing, would that be closer to what can be expected?

No, as with the caveat above, a textbox or text object displaying fps will still suffer EVEN if you happen to keep the System view up in the debugger. Also, as for what Ashley said, he means the normal preview mode. It'll have "localhost:xxxxx" instead of "localhost:xxxxx/debug".

Keep mind if you're seeing fps dps while not running System, you may have a bottleneck caused by one of your events and/or event sheets.
Zelda Gamekit (my project)



Example capxs:

Zelda-Style Inventory

Zelda Health

3-saveslot system

[url=https://www.dropbox.com/s/d4396pwak0oh7q6/ZeldaDialogueSystem.capx?dl=0]Zelda-like Dialogue[
B
51
S
24
G
30
Posts: 534
Reputation: 19,620


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Blendi1223, Yahoo [Bot] and 57 guests