How to change controls? :S

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:53 pm

Goddamnit, so stupid question... How to change custom controls?
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 238
Reputation: 7,915

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:08 pm

I think the question is not stupid, but badly formed.
What controls do you want to change exactly ?

You can use the keyboard plugin to "shortcut" most of the behaviors and "Simulate controls".
Depending on the behavior you are trying to "shortcut" you can check the How do I FAQ, there are several examples of changing/emulating the controls.Kyatric2011-12-20 14:09:19
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:15 pm

[QUOTE=Kyatric] I think the question is not stupid, but badly formed.
What controls do you want to change exactly ?

You can use the keyboard plugin to "shortcut" most of the behaviors and "Simulate controls".
Depending on the behavior you are trying to "shortcut" you can check the How do I FAQ, there are several examples of changing/emulating the controls.[/QUOTE]

Default controls in Construct kinda of:
Arrows to move and Shift to Jump.

I want to change it like in Construct Classic:
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 238
Reputation: 7,915

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:28 pm

Have a look at Platform 4 (custom controls).capx in the examples directory.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,392
Reputation: 194,454

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:31 pm

It doesn't work like in CC.
You have default controls set to the behavior you are using.
For example using a platform behavior for your character, you will have a property "Default control" in the properties bar.
To change the controls, you have to set it to no, and then with a keyboard object you'd have first inserted into the layout/project, you intercept the commands.

I can't seem to find a good example showing right now, but you can see the technic used in several platformer examples of the how do I FAQ.

Edit: Of course, I jumped the obvious, the example folder.
Thanks Ashley.Kyatric2011-12-20 14:32:06
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Post » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:36 pm

Big thanks guys!
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 238
Reputation: 7,915


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brunopalermo, dop2000 and 17 guests