how to communicate with the server and client?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:15 pm

how to communicate with the server and client construct 2? I designed the server with a guide on the forum I post the link:https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/571/modded-socketio. now I designed the server and construct 2 I added the plugin and insert socket connect ip, ip which I enter? I also tried to use hamachi but when I start the server no sign of life, sorry but I used the google translator because I do not speak English.
Server code:// This is required to run the server
// here we define the port the messages are sended though.
// in this case, it is port 8080, you can define it to every port you want.
//but take note, some ports are already in use, then it will throw in an error message.
var io = require("socket.io").listen(8080);
//a variable for our "automatch making"
TmpRoom="wait";
//if a client connects to this, it performs this whole, big function.
io.sockets.on("connection", function (socket) {

     // when the client emits 'adduser', this listens and executes
     socket.on("joint", function(data){
          // checks, if no other waiting player exists,
          if(TmpRoom=="wait")
          {
               //if yes, then it perform this
               // it sais TmpRoom = data, that is the username that is data
               /*That means, TmpRoom is not anymore = wait! so the next one that
               wants to join here, go into the next loop, the "else" loop */
               TmpRoom = data;
               //then it creates, and joins a room, that is called after the users username
               socket.join(TmpRoom);
               //Now it sends the message, you,playersname
               socket.send("you," + TmpRoom);
               // and now, it ends the loops.
          }
          
          else
          {
               //Joins the Temporary Room, to the enemy player
               socket.join(TmpRoom);
               //Then it sends, the name of the room.
               socket.send("Room," + TmpRoom);
               //now, the interesting part. It not just sends a data to ONE client,
               //but to all clients in the room. To all clients in the TmpRoom.
               // the data that it sends, are the currently room name.
               io.sockets.in(TmpRoom).send("enemy," + TmpRoom);
               //and the username from the other player.
               io.sockets.in(TmpRoom).send("enemy," + data);
               //now it again sets the TmpRoom = wait, so the next that tries to join,
               //again, is going to the upper loop, and creating its own room.
               //Rooms are automatically "destroyed" when the Host, leaves the room.
               TmpRoom = "wait";
          }
               
     });
     //if the socket, gets a custom function from C2, called Message with some data(the room name),
     //then it performs this:
     socket.on("message", function(data){
          //now it is in the loop, and if the server gets a event called Chatmessage,
          //probably with a string message, then it performs this:
          socket.on("chatmessage", function(data2){
               //Sends a chat message in the room.
               //it sends data to all clients in the room. that
               //the sending client defined in his "message" function.
               io.sockets.in(data).send("chatmessage," + data2);
          });
          //that is pretty much the same and dont require any explanation
          // i hope.
          socket.on("GameSettings", function(data2){
               //Sends the Game settings, x,y coordinate, String, everything!
               io.sockets.in(data).send("GameSettings," + data2);
          });
     });
     // when the user disconnects. perform this:
     socket.on("disconnect", function(data){
          //on disconnecting, it leaves the room.
          socket.leave(data);
     });
});
B
6
S
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 737

Post » Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:01 pm

Here's a pastebin (I reccommend using this for code as I do not see code tags on the forum) -- as that is quite hard to read.

Pastebin

Tutorial Link
B
4
Posts: 14
Reputation: 703

Post » Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:55 pm

the problem is to configure the program for a connection with the server, I selected connect here and do not know what ip enter. I tried putting the disk, hamachi, but nothing as if no incoming data to the server.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 737


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ivanski1983, KTML5, Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests