How to deal with large images?

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
500 monsters and creatures images for card games - Set 1
  • Hi all,

I would like to ask this essential (well, at least for me) question. For my project I have to use a large image of 1800x1800 pixel in size. What is the best or recommended way to integrate it?

It should be something Construct is optimized for, but what is it? Put the whole image in a sprite, or better in a canvas, or split it to as many sprites as possible, or split it to several canvases?

I've run a test with a smaller image of nearly 1000x800 pixel, loaded to a single sprite. It worked fine, smooth scrolling and such, but it took about 4 seconds to load it. I think, that's not a good sign, but on the other hand I'm no programmer.

Any hint is greatly appreciated.

• It would probably be better to leave it as one big image. Splitting it up, as far as I'm aware, wouldn't speed up loading times.

• One big picture should be better performance wise, than many small pictures.

• 1800 x 1800 is not very effiicient in terms of VRAM. You should be working with power of two sized textures - 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128 .... 1024, 2048.

Your 1800 square image will actually use 2048x2048 pixels in VRAM, with over 200 pixels wasted in each direction. If I was you, I'd shrink it down to 1024, then stretch it up to the size you need. The texture should end up filtered and smoothed when you stretch it, and in motion you probably won't notice the reduced resolution.

Bear I mind that I often think I know what I'm talking about only to be proven wrong by more knowledgable folks, so take this with a pinch of salt.