How to get rid of this Laggy screen

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:07 pm

How big are your animations (images, number of frames)

It sounds like you're just using an unrealistic number and size of frames to get a good frame rate.
However, once the Spriter plug-in is ready for Construct, this will help people avoid this issue. :) But you'd have to recreate your animations with Spriter...
B
45
S
8
G
4
Posts: 414
Reputation: 6,805

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:20 pm

my animations are not big it is just 7-8 frames but u are right, i am trying to arrange my animation right now to get a good FPS on my game :)
B
13
S
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,589

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:36 pm

Be sure also to update your graphic card drivers and make sure your game is ran with WebGL option on in a webGL supporting browser (not IE).
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:19 pm

i have updated my graphic card and i am using chrome but somehow it is still laggy, i have even deleted the background but still laggy :(
B
13
S
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,589

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:20 pm

What about the size of the textures in the animation ?
Post your capx (with less plugins) so others can see if it is laggy too on their computer.Kyatric2012-04-26 18:21:20
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:23 pm

here is the capx
i have deleted almost everything on my project but the character is shaking when its moving and also screen is getting laggy too :(

https://www.dropbox.com/s/p4wbs78mktx4qfo/bitrunner.capx
B
13
S
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,589

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:27 pm

it is a plugging that i have found on the plugging forum , anyway, i have removed it :)
try again please
B
13
S
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,589

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:00 pm

Well, the shakiness comes from the collision polygon.
A runner type of game is like a platformer. It is advised to have an invisible sprite of square/rectangle shape with the platform behavior on which you pin or position each tick the sprite with the animations.
But the collision polygon of the anim doesn't count, only the "support" sprite does.

Also your project was missing the 'Set animation "running"' action.
You also should set the "Default controls" property of the platform behavior to no.
You also should set the option "Loop" of the running animation to yes.

Also you don't need the touch2 plugin, the built-in touch allow you to use either touch and mouse input.
Prefer using built-in than custom plugins.

Using a support sprite, and making sure the origin points are consistent from a frame to another should help with the shakiness.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:03 pm

thank you kyatric, i will try your advises and let you know the results if it works or not
B
13
S
3
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,589

Post » Thu Apr 26, 2012 9:14 pm

Im recreating your game what im doing it for performance, i will post here when it's done
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,638

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: davides, Vallar, Walessio and 25 guests