how to give commands to a specific instance (solved)

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
  • I need to give some commands to a specific instance of a sprite. Let's say that I have more than 1 instance of that sprite, and I want to give an order to the sprite that has a certain private variable to move.

How do I do that?

Thank you.

• I have a similar question:

I tried to make a function where you can push boxes around in grid movement. I didn't get very far before I noticed that the events addresses ALL of the boxes instead of the one I'm actually colliding with. Which means that when I'm pushing a box one direction, it's actually pushing all of the boxes in the same way.

In MMF2(which I have some experience with) it automatically targets the right one and the others are left alone.

What can be done to fix this? Or, what would be a more affective way to achieve the push-function?

Link to .Cap-file:

http://falconshield.com/spel/dungeon%20construct.cap

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Cristi, you should insert a "Compare Private Variable" condition into your event. If PV (Private Variable = X (X being the value you want it to pick for).

Falcon, I haven't looked at your .cap but it sounds like you should try flipping the collision condition. Instead of Player collision with Box, put Box collision with Player.

• On creation of a sprite give its private variable an unique ID, I personally use the spawn object UID for that.

Then do this:

For each object <your sprite>

__If sprite private variable is equal <UID you need> -> Do stuff to sprite

[generally what Mr Wolf wrote]

• On creation of a sprite give its private variable an unique ID, I personally use the spawn object UID for that.

Then do this:

For each object <your sprite>

__If sprite private variable is equal <UID you need> -> Do stuff to sprite

[generally what Mr Wolf wrote]