how to make a 7 segment display?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:25 pm

The problem with that font is that the "1" doesn't take the same space compared to all the other digits. I wonder why it is not monospaced...
B
46
S
17
G
18
Posts: 847
Reputation: 13,802

Post » Mon Jun 18, 2012 5:33 pm

Yes it's totally true but i create a "oldies display mode" is the new capx to force a kind of "monospace" management for numbers ... this lack of monospace can also be a good thing ... it depends the way you want to use it.

The "oldies display mode" give a dim/fade effect to numbers as in old arcade console and can also be use to simulate a computer generating a random number.

*edit* new capx and online test uploaded ;-pnaelian2012-06-18 17:53:59
B
16
S
5
G
3
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,240

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:42 am

can you put the new capx?
thanks
B
10
S
2
G
3
Posts: 49
Reputation: 2,333

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:53 am

[QUOTE=puoidirloatutti] can you put the new capx?[/QUOTE]
He probably updated the files in his previous post.
B
27
S
8
G
8
Posts: 903
Reputation: 8,452

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:56 am

thanks
B
10
S
2
G
3
Posts: 49
Reputation: 2,333

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:24 pm

Yes, i just replace the previous releases of online project and capx with the new one (no interest to keep old releases online !) ... If you have already test a old release you perhaps have to refresh the app after loading to force update so you must have now 2 lines of text display like that :

Normal mode : 88888 (no monospace use so a "1" not take the same width than a "8" ... this display so can be not good if the text is put on a bitmap to simulate a real object) ...

Oldies mode : 88888 (monospace 'like' behaviour is force for numbers so it's possible to create special background effects (dim here) ... or use this font as a front display on a bitmap to simulate a real object. If you don't want the oldies (fade in/out) effect remove or disable the fade behaviour in the text object)

Obviously it could me more simple to find and use a "real" monospace digital font ;-p ... i choose this one because pretty nice and this is the only one i have found using only the 7 standard segments for displaying numbers (0-9) ... but sure it's possible to find something better !.

I have also in mind to put in this project a font for doing "subtitles" ... objective is the same as before so same display on every browser (no css webkit specific tag)... nice rather classic font with effects (light shadow + outline) to have a text always "readable" is all cases.

ENjoynaelian2012-06-19 15:42:34
B
16
S
5
G
3
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,240

Post » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:13 pm

And new update again ! ;-p ...

General :

- The same generated number is now use in all mode to better see the differences using each display mode.

- Cleaner code removing unused things.

Oldies mode :

- This mode use now red color such as in some old clocks or slot machines (@puoidirloatutti )

- the ":" text is display now using a clock like second 'tick' each time a new number is generated (so here every 0.25 secs)

- First "0" are not display too and # of digits can be change in program code.

- (*edit add*) the "Oldies"/"mode" text is also display now using 2 levels of display brightness such as Alarm clock of special text like "WIN !" on slot machines.

ENjoy !naelian2012-06-19 21:29:48
B
16
S
5
G
3
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,240

Post » Sat Jun 23, 2012 11:04 am

sorry, i'm trying to put "88" in the back and the real value over. like a real 7 digit display where you can see the segment in the back. i can't understand how the e xample works. thanks for explain to me...
B
10
S
2
G
3
Posts: 49
Reputation: 2,333

Post » Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:49 pm

@naelian: sorry but i can't understand how to make "1" take the same space of "2" and other digit....
thank's for the answare.
B
10
S
2
G
3
Posts: 49
Reputation: 2,333

Post » Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:59 pm

@naelian: is it possible that in some mobile browser the effect don't work? i'm trying it in the standard browser of an androd device...
have you got some new update?
B
10
S
2
G
3
Posts: 49
Reputation: 2,333

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: h1k3, Unconnected and 0 guests