How to make a single .exe for win export instead of a folder

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:46 pm

I searched the forum and only found a paid version, or a way to make a setup process which I don't need (since I can use Innosetup to do all that)

Is there a free way to package my game all into one .exe that can be played directly by opening it? I'm basically looking for what there is for OSX webkit export (the .app) but for Windows

If not just one .exe, then what's the least amount of files generated into the folder? How to do that? Since we have about 500mb worth of assets, a bunch of images, we'd also like to make them not simply copy-pasteable out of the project.

Thank you for the time good sirs and madams.
Last edited by damjancd on Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
B
38
S
6
G
1
Posts: 306
Reputation: 2,902

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 1:09 am

Lets start with "absolutely and most certainly not", and go from there.
Other than copyright there is no real protection for your assets.
Image ImageImage
B
170
S
50
G
179
Posts: 8,378
Reputation: 113,425

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:48 am

Besides the copyright question, which was not part of the problem, but is a good warning:

@damjancd https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/1276/e ... ode-webkit

There you can export for osx, win and linux 32/64 bit versions. Including .exe-files for windows, as requested.
B
8
S
3
Posts: 197
Reputation: 1,207

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:09 am

@newt, sorry, was a bit sleep deprived when I wrote it. I changed it now :)

@MultipleChoice I'm able to export .exe, but was wondering if there is a compiler that could compile all those separate files into one .exe , something similar to the .app on OSX which works perfectly.

Holy shhh* the title is awful, and I apologize. Should try to sleep before writing anything here :) Will attempt to rephrase it.
B
38
S
6
G
1
Posts: 306
Reputation: 2,902

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:39 am

@damjancd

Yes there is. You can use this program to create a single .exe file which contains all your files and will run without installing. Not sure about the max file sizes though. 500mb is a lot.

Enigma Virtual Box

http://enigmaprotector.com/en/downloads.html
B
49
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,098
Reputation: 11,222

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:53 am

thanks @spongehammer , will check it out :)
File size might vary to about 300 though... still too early to know for sure
B
38
S
6
G
1
Posts: 306
Reputation: 2,902

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:23 am

It works perfectly, thanks !
B
38
S
6
G
1
Posts: 306
Reputation: 2,902


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: koops, Slug101 and 7 guests