How to make a two player game.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed May 23, 2012 7:43 pm

Hi,

I keep wondering if making a two player game with "construct" is possible ?

I've tried some construct features but if someone could save me sometime and could tell me the way to do it, i'll really appreciate it.

I've tried the "search section", but I didn't find any good result.

Another question : If making a two player is possible, and taking I have two object as "player 1" and "player 2", is it possible to make the first object face automaticaly the second object ?

I hope that my queston is well wrighten, if it isn't make me know, and I'll re wright it. Thanks in advance.

And sorry for my bad english, i'm not that good at it.
B
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 289

Post » Wed May 23, 2012 8:04 pm

what kind of game you want? Platform as Super Mario? Fighting game player vs. player or 2 players online.
You speak spanish?
B
17
S
3
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,763

Post » Wed May 23, 2012 8:37 pm

Hi,

I can't speak spanish sorry...

I want to make a fighting game player vs player, all I need is to know if it's possible for a second player to control another sprite.
B
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 289

Post » Wed May 23, 2012 9:01 pm

B
17
S
3
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,763

Post » Thu May 24, 2012 1:53 am

I can't read your example, it said to me I'm not running the latest construct version ( i'm under 90 and it said to me yours is 91 or newer )
B
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 289

Post » Thu May 24, 2012 2:30 am

Yes, sorry, I'm using the beta version, has some interesting features, but it is a beta release.

You use the latest stable version. Unfortunately I can not save the example in the previous version. But you can install the beta version. I recommend you try the new features, adds and changes.

http://www.scirra.com/construct2/releases/r91
B
17
S
3
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,763

Post » Thu May 24, 2012 2:56 pm

Yes it's possible, and there are several different ways to go about doing this. Example:

Keyboard ('Down Arrow Pressed'): Add 500*dt to Sprite1.Y
Keyboard ('Up Arrow Pressed'): Add -500*dt to Sprite1.Y
Keyboard ('Left Arrow Pressed'): Add -500*dt to Sprite1.X
Keyboard ('Right Arrow Pressed'): Add 500*dt to Sprite1.X

Keyboard ('S Pressed'): Add 500*dt to Sprite2.Y
Keyboard ('W Pressed'): Add -500*dt to Sprite2.Y
Keyboard ('A Pressed'): Add -500*dt to Sprite2.X
Keyboard ('D Pressed'): Add 500*dt to Sprite2.X

There, Player 1 can control Sprite1 using the Up, Down, Left, Right arrow keys and Player 2 can control Sprite2 with WSAD.Dalal2012-05-24 14:57:48
Image
B
10
S
3
G
2
Posts: 196
Reputation: 2,053

Post » Thu May 24, 2012 7:27 pm

Thanks for your answer Dalal.

I've tried your way, but i'm blocked after the condition -> "Keyboard" -> On ******* pressed. I click on add an action and then ?

I'm not that used to some event's expression of yours. It's always what block me in making event.
B
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 289

Post » Thu May 24, 2012 8:22 pm

I put together an example using the default behaviors. You can use Simulate control to control multiple character just remember to shut off the Default Controls option.

2 player example

WASD moves the first character, and the arrow keys move the second. Sandcrawler2012-05-24 20:22:58
B
6
G
1
Posts: 23
Reputation: 921

Post » Thu May 24, 2012 11:28 pm

Wooooah really thank you mate, that help me a lot. Simple and practical.

If that bother you too much, could you please make the same example for my second problem :

Make the first sprite, automatically face the second sprite.
Since I want to make a 2d fighting game, that would help me, really.
B
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 289

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lof, YoHoho and 23 guests