How to make unlockables?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:39 am

How can I make that my game saves stuff?

I don't think that there was a tutorial...
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 13
Reputation: 4,910

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:17 am

The only way you can sort of do that is by useing the Webstorage plug-in.

If you want to maintain a Highscore list, then you have to use another technique like http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/259/easily-add-leaderboards-to-your-gameWeishaupt2012-02-19 09:43:01
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 12:51 pm

Two other possibilities:
1) If Php is a friend of you then you can do this comfortable with the AJAX-Plugin:

Tutorial

2) If you want to store something on a client(= eg cookies) than the testing would be big part - if you want that your game runs on many devices (Pc,I-phone,Android..). If Javascript is a friend of you then you can do "the local storing" this with pure Javascript and the Call Javascript-Plugin.
B
14
S
6
G
5
Posts: 173
Reputation: 4,742

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:19 pm

Thanks for your replies.

[QUOTE=Weishaupt] The only way you can sort of do that is by useing the Webstorage plug-in.

If you want to maintain a Highscore list, then you have to use another technique like http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/259/easily-add-leaderboards-to-your-game[/QUOTE]

Is there a tutorial for the webstorage plugin?

The link gives me an internal server error :(
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 13
Reputation: 4,910

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:14 pm

There is no tutorial I know of, but maybe someone will write one soon. Ist basicly quite simple to manage. You just have to store the variable into the WebStorage Object with a refernce to a key...
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:52 pm

Maybe this helps: WebStorageWeishaupt2012-02-19 09:43:22
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:38 pm

[QUOTE=Weishaupt] Maybe this helps: WebStorage[/QUOTE]

Internal Server Error.

Why do I always get Internal Server Errors??????

Edit: Went to the Tutorial manually.RacerXXL2012-02-18 16:40:04
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 13
Reputation: 4,910

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:42 pm

The server error is a good question....and you are not the only one getting this

It's probably me, who is to stupid to post a link. Sorry for that Weishaupt2012-02-18 16:43:27
B
42
S
19
G
12
Posts: 723
Reputation: 13,911

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 5:01 pm

It's not you. It's the same link but yours doesn't work somehow... ?!?!?
B
22
S
5
G
3
Posts: 13
Reputation: 4,910

Post » Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:25 pm

Take a look at this tutorial I wrote a while ago: http://www.scirra.com/tutorials/245/how-to-series-in-game-shop

I showed users how to save things to webstorage in the tutorial. Take a look
B
29
S
12
G
7
Posts: 740
Reputation: 7,839

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests