how to make windows 10 package.appxmanifest work

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Aug 27, 2015 8:02 pm

Why isn't there a separate bug reporting page, where the user have to fill in and attach all necessary files to submit a bug report? Wouldn't that save you time closing bug report that aren't following the guidelines?
B
15
S
3
G
3
Posts: 93
Reputation: 1,466

Post » Fri Aug 28, 2015 8:33 am

@JLH1964

"I will play around this weekend if I have time and see what I can find."

If you find something please post it! :) I keep trying to find a way but I can't. I couldn't even make it work by opening my game with the older Construct2 and then in VS2013 for windows 8.1, seems that once the game is made in the new Construct2 it just wont work, possibly when made in a Windows 8.1 OS (is your OS also 8.1?)

I know there's more people having this problem too, would be nice to know if there's anybody having this problem using OS windows 10?
B
8
S
1
Posts: 61
Reputation: 578

Post » Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:51 pm

paula22 wrote:@JLH1964

"I will play around this weekend if I have time and see what I can find."

If you find something please post it! :) I keep trying to find a way but I can't. I couldn't even make it work by opening my game with the older Construct2 and then in VS2013 for windows 8.1, seems that once the game is made in the new Construct2 it just wont work, possibly when made in a Windows 8.1 OS (is your OS also 8.1?)

I know there's more people having this problem too, would be nice to know if there's anybody having this problem using OS windows 10?


Will do.

I was on 8.1 when I got the error but since last week I'm on 10. I doubt the OS is the issue though.

I know that about a year ago the C2 process to export for Windows would place all the artwork into an incorrect folder. Then, of course, the VS project would not compile. However, this is different as we can't even edit the manifest.

I will create a simple project over the weekend and see what happens. :)
Last edited by JLH1964 on Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:54 pm

B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Fri Aug 28, 2015 7:16 pm

Sounds like it could be related yes maybe. I'm not so much of a coder though :(
B
8
S
1
Posts: 61
Reputation: 578

Post » Sat Aug 29, 2015 1:24 am

I did a fresh install of Constuct and VS2015 and was then able to edit the manifest file but only in 'code view'. My hope was short-lived when trying to compile as I immediately got a build error.

Image

Same error as this guy who has been waiting for an answer for 3 weeks. :(

error-when-trying-to-preview-in-visual-studio-javascript_t151497
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:11 am

FYI:

I managed to fix the non-access to the manifest file. After applying the following, the manifest opens as expected and is fully editable.

Hope this helps. :) Probably should be added to the 'How to...' guide.

Image

Procedure
========
In VS2015 Community, if you go to the following location as if creating a project, you will see a package listed and available for install. It was called 'Universal App Dev tools' or similar. Sorry, I should have taken a screen shot but rushed too much. If not installed, it will be the only option. I installed (long install) and manifest now works as expected.

Image


Update: ALL my apps are now compiling in Windows Universal - no more manifest or compile errors - time well spent. :D :D

Hope this helps you too Paula.
B
15
S
2
Posts: 229
Reputation: 1,353

Post » Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:49 am

You can also install the build files required by VS, by going to Control Panel/Uninstall a program, select MVSC 2015 and choose Change. Then use the VS window to enable the Windows 10 Universal Apps tools required.

I also found you need to have an ID included in C2 properties.

Issues that I still have are:

Can't run app via VS in full screen.
I wonder if this is still using Edge (which doesn't have full screen option) to run the app.

Can't run Deployment Package
When I build a deployment package for testing, and then install the app via App-AddDevPackage the install occurs without any issue, but there is no App launch icon to be found in the start menu.

I will report back if I have any success in these areas.

lol - I guess this is why MS don't build cars! :D
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
35
S
13
G
7
Posts: 363
Reputation: 7,283

Post » Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:48 am

@JLH1964:
Update: ALL my apps are now compiling in Windows Universal - no more manifest or compile errors - time well spent. :D :D

Hope this helps you too Paula.


I did this, and I still can't see the manifest :( , either opening with VS2015 or VS2013 (while installing, some 2013 files seemed to be installed as well). Then I also tried installing the Windows 8 tools (under the universal ones you explained how to install), and I still can't open the manifest. This continues happening even when I adapt my app to Construct2 r206, export for Windows 8.1 and open with VS 2013. But, when I try exactly the same with an old app that I had created from scratch in the older Construct 206, then it does work and I can open the manifest.

So, as far as I can see, it is a problem caused by creating the game in the new Construct2 r212.2 in an OS Windows 8.1 (Windows 10 is not ready for my computer yet)

Glad to hear it works for you anyway! And thank you for posting it

@michael:
I also found you need to have an ID included in C2 properties.


I have the ID in my C2 properties
B
8
S
1
Posts: 61
Reputation: 578

Post » Sun Aug 30, 2015 10:40 am

@paula22,
Are you using Windows 10? Windows 10 Universal Apps won't work on previous versions.
If it can be done, someone on the web will show you how to do it!

CDASI Games Mentality Break Splat-a-bug FlapFleet Challenge
B
35
S
13
G
7
Posts: 363
Reputation: 7,283

PreviousNext

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests